Education logo

What to write

nothing comes to mind when you're sitting down staring into the screen?

By Luna RuizPublished 4 years ago 2 min read

If you're anything like me, a million ideas flow through your head, but you have no idea where to start? How do you take just one idea and begin writing without wanting to create a million side stories to go along with it? Starting, I guess, would be the main problem. Do I ask a question or begin with a relatable problem of my own? They say to capture the readers' attention and you only have ten seconds to do this. But wait? Back to the question of what do I want to write about?

This is always something I struggled with all through my K-12 education. Beginning to learn to spell was the cause of everything. Tsk Tsk Tsk.

See...just right now I wanted to throw in a story about how I forgot my name in first grade. Or the time I wanted to drop my AP class but the counselor said to talk to the teacher about it. I walked into her classroom after school. After our conversation, all my essay assignments from then to the end of the year would supposedly go missing for some time and then proceed to be marked as late assignments. But you wouldn't know that unless I decide to use that as a story as to why I have trouble writing.

But I'm a freshman in college now. I just had to drop my English class because it was a condensed class. We had 8 weeks and each week would be a new part of an essay we would have to write. Heading to the works cited page. But I was already beginning to have a hard time. I didn't understand the topic and the websites we were to use. The teacher called my thesis confusing to read. How was I to write a whole essay around this thesis if I failed to complete a good beginning topic that would guide the rest of the writing?

I wouldn't. I log into the school portal, open my class schedule, and drop her class like a hot tamal. I will try again next semester, but who's to even know if I will get my proper education if I fail to complete basic knowledge of mine.

So if there was anything to take away from this, it is this. Do Not For The Love Of The Higher Powers Pass Up The Opportunity To Get Extra Help. This goes for pretty much anything. School, work, relationship. Seek help with any problem you have. It gives you the chance to grow as a person.

I, myself, am very stubborn. I refuse to ask for help because I hate the fact that I was given the ability to never be able to comprehend anything. That's where it started, way before a building and teachers and writing my name. You could give me charts and explain and videos and pictures. If it doesn't click the first time, it never will. So hopefully you take away something from this, and if not, find this very detailed blog interesting, as I wrote my train of thoughts in exact order...

student

About the Creator

Luna Ruiz

i remember writing my first story in 1st grade. It was about a girl like me, she had glasses and long dark hair. she was teased on, but was very smart with her words...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Luna RuizWritten by Luna Ruiz

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.