Lifehack logo

My Little Dream Home

I own my home, but I'm disabled and it's falling apart, and I dream of something better.

By Morgaine SwannPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
I dream of soft pink opulence.

I decided to take up the Dream Home challenge because it's something I think about a lot. The picture above is a Vision Board I made recently just for fun. When I became disabled (I'm not in a wheelchair, but I'm nearly housebound for a variety of reasons) I wound up moving to a small place that had belonged to my grandparents, then my parents, and when they died, it became mine. It's located in a remote area of Eastern Kentucky on land that has been in my family since the 1800s. I'm on a mountain next door to my closest family, though I only see them a few times a month when I happen to be outside as they bring my mail up from the road. I love it here most of the time, but the structure has seen better days and now that I'm alone and on disability, things are going steadily downhill. If I had unlimited funds, I'd hire a professional crew to clean it out, reinforce the floor and fix the leaky roof. New siding would be nice, too. Plus I need a new back door because a bear damaged mine trying to get in one night. (It nearly succeeded!)

I love things that are soft, comfortable, pretty and pink. I do have eclectic and expensive tastes in a few things - I want a kitchen full of pink SMEG appliances - an old-fashioned refrigerator with a freezer on top, a stove that actually works, and a dishwasher built into the space where useless drawers now reside. I don't think it would look tacky, just feminine and unusual. Comfy pink furniture and a smart TV for my TV room to go with a green marble table I have that I can't use right now would be amazing - I don't have a functioning TV in that room - I mostly listen to MSNBC or music via Alexa when I'm in there. I'd like to turn my living room, which goes unused now, into a functional craft room with one of CreateRoom.com's Dream Boxes. They fold up into a gorgeous armoire when not in use but open up to reveal many shelves, bins, drawers, a fold-down table and ample room to store art supplies.

When my Grandfather was very sick, he could barely walk, let alone get in and out of a tub. My aunt had the tub replaced with a step-in shower unit and my dream would be to replace that unit with a walk-in tub. Being able to soak in the tub now and then would have a profound effect on my psycological as well as physical well being. I figure a walk-in would be my best bet if I were to have more physical problems as I get older, because it's still easy to get in and out of and they can come with shower attachment options. I'd also love to have a small spa or pool in back of the house so I could enjoy the summers I have left floating on an air mattress basking in the sun or winters enjoying a hot soak. I don't get to do anything like that right now.

My dreams will seem small to most people, but they'd mean everything to me in terms of safety, comfort and even a bit of luxury. I can imagine a big Victorian house with a luxurious interior and a big swimming pool, or a lovely cottage on the shore somewhere, but at my age, in my condition and having no spouse, siblings or children of my own, the security of being near family means a lot to me. I just want to be safe and comfortable, with room to be creative and gorgeous pink appliances that work the way they're supposed to. That would definitely be my dream house!

house
2

About the Creator

Morgaine Swann

Feminist Witch, Author, Tarot reader, Lost 100 pounds on the Ketogenic Diet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.