Lifehack logo

My Best Mornings — Five Daily Routine Must-Do’s

How to start on a positive note for your day

By DaphsamPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
My Best Mornings — Five Daily Routine Must-Do’s
Photo by David Mao on Unsplash

Morning time is the most favorite time of day for me. It’s the promise of a new day with new opportunities coming on the horizon. I always look forward to my morning routine as it sets me on the right foot for the day. Here are my favorite five activities to help support my physical and mental well-being.

Heating Pad Happiness

Before I leave bed, I use an XL heating pad to warm up my tight muscles. Here are some of the benefits of adding some warmth to your body.

The warm, relaxing heating pad will increase blood flow and make moving around less painful for some joints and muscles. I am all about flexibility, and at times, after a night of sleep, I feel like I just went to battle all from sleeping! Ahh, the joys of getting older.

With the heating pad giving a relaxing vibe to the body, it ensures a lower stress level before hitting the bathroom. What an excellent way to begin setting a positive tone for the day!

By Margarita Zueva on Unsplash

Oatmeal for Physical Wellness

Every morning, I prepare a big bowl of warm Irish Steel Oatmeal with a slice of apple and a dash of cinnamon. Many people think that Oatmeal tastes like paper mache ( my husband). Let me tell you some of the benefits of this superfood.

Oatmeal is high in fiber, will make you feel full, and will help you stay regular! Stay regular with your bowel movements — WINNING!

Oatmeal is a soluble fiber that will help reduce LDL cholesterol levels, a bad kind of cholesterol that can reduce the risk of heart disease.

This morning or lunch food item can also help regulate blood sugar. Because of this, it’s a great food source for people with diabetes.

The warming of the oatmeal leaves you feeling full, relaxed, and satiated. The image of the three little bears sometimes flashes in my mind when I eat this. I feel all warm and cozy!

By Kowit Phothisan on Unsplash

The cozy beverage to start the day — warm water

Before I have my cup of coffee, the daily first beverage of my choice is warm water. As I unload the dishwater, I slowly sip my cozy beverage. There is something to be said to start warming the insides of the body as another way to create a relaxing way to start the day. Here are a few other benefits.

The warm water is like a water bottle for your intestines, causing a more positive way for your digestive tract to begin the day. It will also help with constipation! Warm those intestines and get the food moving out!

The warm water will encourage your muscles to relax and become less tense.

It’s a great way to hydrate first thing in the morning. If you crave something warm and don’t care for coffee and tea, this could do the trick!

By Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Positive Affirmation Cards

I am a worrier and pessimistic. Partly because first thing in the morning, my lower back and body pain were most on fire. So naturally, the negative talk would begin. I had to find ways to change the script. When I read a book called What to Say When You Talk to Yourself by Shad Helmstetter, he spoke about changing the highways in the brain to send positive messages instead of negative ones. Well, that’s only happening with some help.

Writing a few messages that I needed to hear all the time and putting them in front of me helped boost my confidence. With the use of post-it notes and having them stuck to my bathroom mirror so when I brush my teeth, I can’t miss them. It’s a great way to help with the conversation in the head. Other benefits:

It helps with improving your self-esteem!

Creating positive talk will help reduce stress and keep those scary, negative thoughts away.

By repeating positive affirmations, you will watch your self-confidence get more robust and grow.

Using positive affirmations can help encourage you to get motivated to reach your goals and dreams!

By Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Walking for Healing

Every morning, I begin the day on the treadmill or, weather permitting, outside. Walking is a way to clear my head, keep my muscles and joints loose and flexible, and get 3,000 steps in before 9 a.m.!

Some other ways walking is a great activity to add to your routine are:

Staying with the practice of walking will help you maintain your weight.

It’s an excellent boost for your metabolism.

Early morning exercise can help your sleep cycle and encourage a more peaceful sleep.

Talking a walk gives you time to reflect and plan for the day.

*****************************************************************

I hope some of these daily routines land for you and become part of your daily morning routine. Please feel free to add a few of your own in the comments so I can continue to learn other ways that foster a calming and relaxing start to the day.

Thank you for reading!

This was original posted on Medium.

how tohealth

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Great tips, thanks for sharing.

DaphsamWritten by Daphsam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.