Lifehack logo

Minimalism is Crap

Also, it's almost exclusively for rich people. Let's talk about it.

By Ashley LimaPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
6
Minimalism is Crap
Photo by Phil on Unsplash

I like stuff, and I'm a sentimental person, so you bet your ass I'm keeping that pretty rock I found on the side of a highway in 2018. Nothing you say can stop me.

Whenever I think of minimalism, I think of sad, boring, all-white houses with no personality. The kind of things only the elites can achieve through curated decorative pieces and numerous housecleaners keeping up with the dust. It's almost as though the absence of stuff exudes the appearance of a more luxurious lifestyle, but everything about it looks so uncomfortable.

I don't have a lot of money, so when I think about even getting rid of something my first thought is: "Better to have it and not need it than need it and not have it." Because the truth of the matter is, if I need it and don't have it, I probably won't be able to go out and buy it. And it's true, I don't know when or if I'll need that thing, so I keep it. It's probably why I have two crock pots in my cabinets collecting dust. But maybe one day I'll want to make a pot roast and buffalo chicken mac and cheese at the same time. You never know!

Clothes are another thing. I have a lot of clothes. I have a lot of clothes that no longer fit, even. But hey, maybe one day they will fit again. Also, I remember wearing that shirt on a first date. I wore that one to the Science Museum in 2017. And that one was a shirt I bought for my first-ever interview. I have clothes going back to 8th grade, and no, I'm not getting rid of any of them. (That's not true, I do get rid of clothes, I just don't get rid of enough of them according to minimalism - I digress).

Don't get me started on books. I DO give away books if it's a book I love and want to give away for someone else to read, but I will be on the lookout at the thrift store for another copy to replenish my library (shoutout to Goodwill). I collect books like a moth to a flame. If it looks interesting, has a familiar author, or is part of a series I loved growing up, I'm spending that dollar or two to put it on my shelf. Maybe I'll read it one day, maybe I won't, either way, it's mine. My bookshelf is not neat, organized, color-coded, or any other particular combination of put away nicely. It's a mess. It's disorganized. I have antiques on one side and contemporary prints on the other. When I get a new book, I find a spot and jam it in. Plain and simple. Is it minimalist? Absolutely not, and why would I want it to be?

Maybe I'm a mindless consumer, but listen, my house is filled with things that make me happy. Why would I want fewer things when I can have a plethora of knick-knacks that highlight my tastes, show the ways in which I've changed over the years, and give me the ability to bring up fun conversations any time I have guests (which is never, but you get the point). Minimalism is crap. Don't fall for it. You're allowed to enjoy the things you enjoy and there's no need to feel pressure to get rid of things and do without if that's something you don't want to do.

And hey, maybe getting rid of things and downsizing your wardrobe, kitchen, and library is something you want to do. That's fine, do that if that's your prerogative. From my perspective, minimalism is just a social trend meant to influence and put pressure on consumers to conform one way or another. I'm not conforming, and if you don't want to, you shouldn't either. Let those shirts hang in the closet for years, allow those books to collect dust, and may those silly knick-knacks spark joy in ways an empty room never could. Be eclectic, be yourself, and feel good about your overstuffed, unorganized, original space.

pop culturehouseclothing
6

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)11 months ago

    So Relatable ❤️😉📝❗

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    I agree about the stuff to a point. Some days I wake up and the stuff just gotta go. So they are donated. Then the thrift/goodwill gets a visit. You find the coolest stuff hidden in corners there. Be careful the stuff monster doesn't come get you one dark night.

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    I guess I’m much the same and have to agree to an extent. I’m very sentimental and like to hold onto stuff sometimes though it’s a little impractical. Also I would never EVER be able to fit into my year 8 clothes 🤣those are long gone many decades ago! Also Ashley, now you need to show us pics of said nick knacks so you can tell us the stories! Bam! Next article right there!☺️

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    I agree with you completely! A paradox isn't it - the richer you are, the less Stuff 🤔 I hadn't thought of it before, but you're right 🤔

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.