Lifehack logo

Mindful Gift Giving

Gifting from the Heart

By Alexandra McCormickPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Since this pandemic (or just 2020 in general) came into our lives it has just been one thing after another. A lot of people lost their jobs. As a result money has gotten tight for a lot of families which makes getting even the most basic things a challenge. And now that the holidays have arrived there are a lot more challenges because a lot of people are still struggling to get the basics and now they have to buy presents. For those who have children it is especially difficult because children depend on their parents for pretty much anything. And there are some kids who still don't understand what sacrifices and challenges their parents face just to provide for them and make sure they have the essentials. So for a lot of households, Christmas is going to look a lot different this year. But there are ways to still give gifts for Christmas but still be mindful not only for yourself but other people as well.

Ever since I could remember I've always loved handmade gifts. Growing up with my grandmother I've always loved the idea of a gift someone made with their own hands. Sure it doesn't have embellishments and it's not perfectly cut but when you think about how much time someone spent to make that just for you, it warms your heart because they had you in mind when they made it. I have had my share of handmade gifts over the years and have given my share of handmade gifts over the years. Depending on what I gave it was a hit or miss but most of my feedback has been good.

For example about three years ago I picked up crochet just as a cheap hobby. Over time I have gotten better and absolutely loved it. Since then I have made multiple blankets, scarves, hats, etc. Now the one downside to crocheting is that it takes a while, depending on what you make but also on your experience crocheting. I've gotten much better and faster but it still takes a while. I have multiple that I like to use for gifting and not only does this help me every year take the cost of my gifts down but I also give them something that I made for them myself. I've also learned how to make things like soaps, scrubs, things like that for the females in my family. Everybody has a craft or a hobby that they could use to gift to somebody. You'd be surprised of the things that you come up with when you have that craft or hobby.

Buying from a small business also is a way to make gifting more special. Small businesses usually aren't very well known and put a personal touch on everything that they do. When you buy from a large, national brand you're just adding dollars to a millionaire's bank account so they can buy their tenth summer home. When you buy from a small business you help pay the co-pay for a doctor's appointment. You help pay someone's rent. You also help buy a little girl's dance lessons. Or a little boy's little league uniforms.

Or for those who have a little extra, they could use that as a gift for someone who absolutely needs it. With this pandemic and everybody falling on hard times everyone could use a little help. You got that extra can of veggies that you you're never gonna use? Or that box of mac and cheese that's just sitting there that you know you're not going to use? Give it to someone who really needs it. There is no better way to cheer up someone's Christmas than giving them something they really need. That can of veggies or box of mac and cheese can be the difference between hungry and full. You just never know anyone's situation.

So this year just remember that while Christmas may not change for some people, it has a changed for a lot. Some may not be able to see certain family members because of safety or there may not be as many presents under the tree as last year. However you buy gifts other people whether it be a large brand or a small business

Happy Holidays!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra McCormick

I'm just your average girl who loves food and loves to live life to the fullest. I'm a dog mom with the best dog in the world and learning who I am all over again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.