Lifehack logo

How to Write With Chronic Illness

Some Ideas & Tips From Me to You

By Abhishek Published 2 months ago 4 min read
Like
How to Write With Chronic Illness
Photo by Matteo Vistocco on Unsplash

you ever open up and see a ton of notifications from other creators who are pumping out stories weekly, daily, hourly, and wonder why you are incapable of being as fruitful with your work? Today I'm here to tell you that you're not 'lazy' or any less of a writer than they are, because more than likely you looked at the title of this article and said: "Yes, I have a chronic illness and I am a writer, but how do I maintain both without ruining the other?"

As someone who has both physical and mental ailments that impede or make creating more difficult than a healthy person, I can tell you that there is a way to do both, but it looks different for everyone. In this article, I'm going to share what I've learned over the years!

I want to preface this by stating that I'm not a medical expert and I'm only sharing what I've learned works best for me through my own experiences! Even to this day I'm still learning, and open to suggestions or tips from others!

Change Your Goals to Smaller, Bite Sized Victories


There is nothing more disheartening than missing a deadline or not sticking with a goal because your illness got in the way. For many of us this is just a fact of life, as one day you may be up and around, flinging words and ink to paper, while the next you may be bed ridden or worse - in the ER.

I will admit to not always following this advice myself. Sometimes I think of a big, long-term goal that I want to meet, and set high expectations that I have no way of knowing will come to fruition. It's a struggle to accept that your body has more needs than the average person and because of that you can't do the same amount of work at the same pace.

AND THAT'S OKAY!

Something that I started doing last year was writing down daily goals that I wanted to accomplish, and then at the end of the day writing down what I actually did. This created a daily snap-shot in time that let me see that the days where I thought I was unproductive I was actually taking care of myself, or that I may not have done what I wanted, but did something else that let me know I wasn't being 'lazy'.

There were some days I wrote: "I want to finish this chapter," and instead at the end of the day reported back with: "I got out of bed and took a shower."

Little by little, day by day, I recorded my little victories. Over time, it became a way to self-reflect on my progress at my own pace without the pressure of meeting unrealistic expectations.

Journaling this often may not suit you, so instead create small goals every few days or weeks! Let it be known these are things you WANT to do, as I know saying you NEED to do them can create extra anxiety or self-hatred when the deadline inevitably comes around and you are not at 100%. Obviously there will always be things you need to do, but for me, the wording makes a lot of difference towards your productivity.

Change Up Your Scenery


Changing your routine, even a little, can make a huge difference in your productivity and motivation. Like any of us with chronic illnesses, there may be days where you are chained to your bed in too much pain to do much of anything, but try opening up that curtain, or shuffling over to that chair by the window with your journal or writing device of choice. Ask for help from friends or family - if they are near and willing - to give you a helping hand should you need it.

On easier days, take a short walk, or step outside and drink in some sunshine or rain - whatever the weather may be. Maybe go to that local coffee shop, or take a pit stop at a scenic overlook or park where you can have time to be within nature.

It all depends on your situation and if your day is a good or bad one. Either way, I found that if I can change up what I normally do, I can become inspired and motivated a little bit easier.

On my better days, I like to drive down to a little river bank and sit along the shore with my journal and phone in hand. I write in short bursts: sometimes working on projects I already started, or letting my imagination run wild and writing whatever comes to mind in the moment. In between the sprints, I'll sit back and take in the sounds of the lapping waves and tiny rushing roars of the waterfalls and eddies. It works wonders on my anxiety and depression!

housetravelhealthgarden
Like

About the Creator

Abhishek

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.