Lifehack logo

How to wake up early

A guide for sleepyheads

By Oscar PerezPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1
How to wake up early
Photo by insung yoon on Unsplash

Do you want to know the secret to going from waking up at noon to 7 a.m.? In this article/video, I'll share realistic tips and advice on how to make waking up earlier easier. Pay close attention to the third tip, as we'll discuss important questions to help you craft a morning routine that works for you.

If you're addicted to your phone, here's an unconventional tip for you: set an alarm at the time you want to wake up. Though most people will tell you that you must be extremely productive right after, allow yourself 15 minutes and 15 minutes only to go through your phone. Make sure you set an alarm right to let you know once those 15 minutes are up. Then it's time to get the day started with your routine.

It's important to have a morning routine that you genuinely enjoy, even if it goes against what's considered conventional. Find what motivates you to get out of bed and start your day. While it's ideal to replace phone scrolling with healthier habits like stretching or journaling, it's okay to start small and take it step by step. 

To craft your perfect morning routine, ask yourself these questions: What do I want to accomplish in the morning? How am I going to achieve this when I wake up? And how am I going to maintain this routine? By answering these questions, you can create a morning routine that is both ideal and realistic for you.

For example, I like being outdoors, feeling the sun in my face and tending to my plants before I do anything eles. So my morning routine involves me getting out of bed, freshening up, making breakfast with some songs playing and then tending to my plants for half an hour. I then go outside for a quick jog around the bloc and go to the corner store to buy groceries.

By the time I'm back it's around 8:30 and I'm ready to get to work. I pack my briefcase, take my laptop, keys and hop into my van and get off to work, ready to face the day.

When it comes to breakfast, I try to avoid foods that can cause a spike and drop in your blood sugar, it makes me feel tired afterwards. Instead I have some fruits and porridge and grab a cold coffee from a vending machine on my way to work. However, I do not drink it until 11'O clock.

A good technique to you can use is creating triggers. Triggers make waking up easier, set specific alarm sounds that act as auditory triggers. You can also use light as a trigger by opening curtains or using a Sunrise alarm clock. For heavy sleepers, tactile triggers like wearing a smartwatch that vibrates can be effective. And if you have a sense of smell linked to memories, introducing scents as a wakeup trigger can be powerful.

When trying to wake up earlier, remember to shift everything else in your day earlier as well. This includes eating dinner, exercising, and showering. And be mindful of your sleeping habits and how many hours of sleep you actually need. It's important to find the right balance for yourself.

Lastly, the way others perceive you can influence your habits. If you want to become a morning person, tell people that you are one. When others see you as responsible and productive, you're more likely to live up to those expectations and stick to your morning routine.

So, start implementing these tips and enjoy the benefits of waking up earlier and having a productive morning routine. Good luck on waking up earlier and I'll see you bright and early!

househealth
1

About the Creator

Oscar Perez

Hey there! I'm a young man who likes to write, garden and code in my spare time. I left home at the age of 14 (yeah families are tough) and found myself travelling. Someday I'd love to have my own space where I share my experiences with you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Hermoine Granger🧑‍🎓2 months ago

    Great work man!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.