Lifehack logo

How To Get the Most Out of Online Therapy

I signed up for BetterHelp after my wasband refused to sign my divorce papers last summer.

By Alexis ChateauPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I told my wasband I was filing for divorce, he was initially receptive to the idea. But, as I explained in My Escape From Marriage to Mountainviews things did not go as planned. When he and his attorney resorted to blackmail, I knew it was time for either prison or therapy. I chose the latter.

I also chose to complete therapy 100% online. Based on my year-plus of weekly sessions, here are some tips to help you get the most out of online therapy.

1. Identify Your Needs

Therapists often say everyone needs therapy—including themselves. This is, of course, a convenient and lucrative philosophy for them to share, but there is some truth to it. This is all the more reason to determine why you need therapy.

I was a minute into contemplating the pros and cons of widowhood when I impulsively signed up for online therapy. In the days leading up to that, I couldn't focus enough to sleep or work.

Coupled with trying to keep my business afloat while most of my clients shut down in a pandemic-fueled recession, I was burned out. So, I knew precisely why I needed therapy, and you should too.

2. Understand Mandatory Reporting

Like most people in the health care profession, your therapist will likely operate under state or national mandatory reporting laws. This requires them to report certain activities to the relevant authorities, even if they have no proof, at risk of losing their licenses.

In my case, my therapist would have been bound by federal and Georgia state laws to report my wasband. So, I chose anonymity and was honest about it.

This allowed me to tell all the grimy details without worrying that I would end up in a courtroom in a state that will always side with White American men over foreign women of color.

3. Consider the Platform

You can get online therapy from individual therapists or popular online platforms. Whatever you decide, keep an eye out for scam artists and manipulative professionals.

When I first started, I chose eTherapyPro. The therapist was so awful that I started suspecting something was wrong and did some research. It is not BB accredited but has tons of complaints on the website.

After a month, I left for BetterHelp and had a much better experience. Moral of the story: never be afraid to fire your therapist and find a better one.

4. Choose Your Therapist Wisely

Unless you choose an individual therapist, most platforms will start you off with a questionnaire. It will ask questions about yourself, your therapy needs, and your preferences for a therapist.

Answer these honestly. After my experience with a condescending male therapist, I was ecstatic that I could narrow my choices down to a non-religious Black woman.

The first therapist they matched me with on BetterHelp introduced herself by telling me how in-demand she was. She then advised me to book sessions early because she filled up quickly.

I told her accessibility and availability were important to me and dropped her. I was connected with a much better match shortly thereafter. I kept that therapist for the next year.

5. Work on Being Consistent

If you are hesitant or distrustful, when it comes to therapy, you could feel tempted to dip your feet in slowly. You might also have concerns about the cost that could compel you to have fewer sessions than you need.

Budget your time and money to ensure you can have consistent sessions with your therapist. Aim for at least one, one-hour session per week. If you can't, ultimately, a little therapy is better than no therapy at all.

If you're considering mental health services, that's already a pretty good sign that you should go for it. No reason is too petty or too trivial to get the help you need. Even small problems are often just the straw that broke the camel's back. Invest in your mental health; invest in yourself.

Like the content I create? Feel free to tip me, so I can keep writing!

health
Like

About the Creator

Alexis Chateau

I like cats, camping and FJ Cruisers. Follow my adventures at www.alexischateau.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.