Lifehack logo

How to Become A Mole in About Five Seconds

A Last Minute Halloween Costume Idea

By A. Alexis KreiserPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'm a little bit strapped for cash right now, and after dropping a load of money another costume, my organic chemistry professor offered extra credit if we came to class in a chemistry-related costume. I had absolutely no idea what to go as. Ultimately, I decided to go as a mole, and anybody that's had even one chemistry class in their lifetime knows exactly why this is related to chemistry.

So then it dawned on me: how exactly was I supposed to pull something like this off? I knew it didn't have to be too elaborate, but I also knew that I had to put some kind of effort into it. So I did some research, and finally made a very simple, and quite cheap, costume to turn myself into a mole.

In order to do this, you will need a black shirt, your good ol' yoga pants, and some makeup. Once you are in your black clothes, now you are going to apply your makeup. I simply applied the makeup that I usually apply every day, and you can do the same. You use the same makeup for the mole makeup so it really doesn't matter anyway.

Disclaimer: I actually have the shirt and yoga pants. I’ve had them for a while and I don’t remember how I got them (I’m going to take a wild guess and say that they are hand-me-downs since. Despite being the oldest sibling, that’s how I got most (if not all) of my clothes growing up for some reason.), so I have no idea how much they actually cost. Just make sure that the yoga pants are black and that the shirt is also black. With the shirt especially, make sure it’s a solid black without any graphics on it. Otherwise, it won’t look like you put much effort into it, although let’s be honest, you kind of didn’t.

Anyway, in order to look like a mole from here, you simply need whiskers and a nose. In order to make whiskers, I used eyeliner pencil to draw them, specifically L'Oreal Paris Voluminous Smoldering Eyeliner in Black, all over my cheeks. I ended up drawing three whiskers on each side, despite the fact that I have no idea how many whiskers, if any, moles actually have. As for the nose, I simply grabbed some pink lip gloss, smeared it all over my finger, and then rubbed it on the end of my nose. I noticed that moles’ noses are kind of pointy when doing my research, but since I didn’t have the time or money for that sort of thing, I just didn’t even bother, especially since it was only going to be a one-time thing.

This process took all of about a few minutes. I didn't even buy a tail or ears because, according my research, moles don't have typical "ears on top of the head" ears and their tails are so small that, to me, it just wasn't worth investing time or money, especially since all of this was for extra credit in a college class. I really hope my costume went over well in class with my other classmates as well as my professor, who is, apparently, a sucker for puns, so I feel like my mole costume might have gone over well with him at least, and therefore, maybe the other students, and I hope that, if you do decide to try this, that it goes over well for you, too.

(By the way, the photo at the top is the one that I took showing the makeup that I used for my face.)

how to
Like

About the Creator

A. Alexis Kreiser

Freelance author. I write about what I want which is mostly stuff about science and politics - or my own life.

Email: [email protected]

Twitter/Instagram/Snapchat: @Lexie_FM

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.