Lifehack logo

Get Rid of the Hiccups Instantly!

A Simple Guide to the Annoying Hiccups

By Ben HamptonPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo from Pinterest

Everyone knows what it's like to have the hiccups. Annoying, aggravating, and you simply just can't sit still. I've been thinking that, well, I might as well share my positive experience with others! I have implemented no research on what I'm about to discuss. This was a self taught trick that has worked on me, as well as everyone I've tested it with.

Let's begin. So usually you will look up this topic and just be told to hold your breath or drink so much water and this and that. This trick involves nothing but a simple strategy of the mouth. I have found that drinking water and doing breathing steps don't really help that much when you have those eternal hiccups. At least they didn't for me.

Here's how it goes, I will just lay it out in four simple steps so it will be easier to comprehend.

  1. First, once you have the hiccups you're going to curl your tongue backwards to the far-back roof of your mouth. Your tongue should go back pretty far, obviously not down your throat, though.
  2. Apply a firm amount of pressure to the roof of your mouth (towards the throat) with your tongue. Keep it there for a good ten seconds or so.
  3. While holding it there, take normal paced, but deep breaths.
  4. This should knock it out in no time. Just keep holding it and you will feel your lower throat to kind of "ease" up.

The reason this works is because your body isn't going to let you hiccup your tongue down your neck. It bypasses the involuntary spasms caused in the diaphragm. This causes it to "settle down" in a sense. It's helped me every time I've had the hiccups ever since I've figured it out. And besides, it's a total life saver.

Personal Testimony:

One day I was laying in bed trying to fall asleep, when all of the sudden I got slammed with hiccups. I let them rattle off for a while until I eventually just got fed up with them. I mean come on, I had to be awake early the next morning. I didn't have time for this. I began searching through YouTube and Google on how to get rid of these annoying bodily functions. All I saw was drink vinegar or drink water or just breathe like a madman. NONE of these options were working well for me that night. I literally thought I was going to have them forever. About 25 minutes had passed since I initially got them so I was getting pretty pissed. I stopped and starting fooling around with my tongue. I pushed it back to the roof of my mouth towards my throat. I breathed in and out a few times at a normal pace, but deeper. About six seconds had went by and I didn't hiccup one time. (I had a good hiccup about every 3-4 seconds. Consistently.) I could only think to myself, "Did I REALLY get rid of these just then after ALL of that trouble?!" Fortunately, I did. A couple days later my older brother had gotten them. I told him I learned a trick or two about it. He wanted me to give them up so I did. I told him the steps noted above and wa-lah! No more hiccups. Then my mother got them about a week after that. Same thing happened. Handed over the classified information and another one down. So I figured I would share with every one else. It was self taught. I had seen this strategy NOWHERE on the internet. Or maybe I just didn't look hard enough. But it works for the tests I've tried and hopefully it works for you, too!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.