Lifehack logo

Easy Recipe Masterpost

And An Exciting Surprise

By Natasja RosePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
5
Easy Recipe Masterpost
Photo by Wasa Crispbread on Unsplash

Vocal's Summer Camp Challenge showed me that I have far more recipes in my head than I thought.

It also showed me irrefutable proof that turning home economics into a one-term class unless you choose to take Hospitality as an Elective has been a terrible thing for the majority of young people. Even some not-so-young ones, too.

There are some skills that stopped being taught in the core curriculum at schools because the Educational Powers That Be assumed, somewhere along the line, that parents would teach it at home. Doing your taxes, sewing a button or fixing a seam, changing a tire. Cooking.

For Latchkey Kids who grew up self-reliant and a generation who remember times when most people had a Breadwinner parent and a House parent, it pobably seemed like a no-brainer to stop wasting valuable class time and slide all those practical skills over to Electives rather than treating them as Foundational skills.

In hindsight, that was a mistake.

Not everyone had a stay-at-home parent who taught cooking skills by observation and happy childhood memories. Not everyone has a partner who enjoys cooking. Not everyone has the time to make three healthy meals from scratch every day.

That's especially true with the neurodiverse, particularly for people with executive dysfunction, where every task seems overwhelmingly huge, or sensory issues relating to the taste or texture of food.

Obesity is a growing problem, made bigger by the number of people for whom healthy meals are orders of magnitude harder than ordering take-out or heating up a frozen microwave meal.

With that in mind, I decided to throw a metaphorical blanket over the Brain Weasels calling me a pretentious hack, and write my own cookbook, aimed specifically for people who have limited time and/or sensory issues.

There are plenty of cookbooks out there.

Cookbooks that promise to have anyone turning out dishes that taste like they came straight from a gormet kitchen. Vanity projects from celebrity chefs. Geographic- or Culture-centred cuisine. Cookbooks based on a paticular diet, like Paleo or Keto. There are even cookbooks based around a particular fandom, like "Nanny Ogg's Cookbook", "The Great Redwall Feast", and many, many others.

But while I've seen plenty of MummyBlogs dedicated to recipies promising enjoyment by even the fussiest child (questionable, given how many spices are involved in most of those brag recipes...), I've yet to see any cookbooks aimed at adults who used to be fussy-eater children, and now had a slightly expanded palate, but not the time or energy to experiment.

That's where I come in.

By Coralline Clin on Unsplash

While you're waiting for me to actually get off my backside and finish writing all those recipes down, here's a masterpost for the recipes that I've published individually.

Breakfast

If you have trouble prying yourself out of bed in the morning, make breakfast the night before!

Salads and Snacks

The one that kickstarted this whole idea...

Way better than the title makes it sound, I promise...

A tasty snack, deep fried but healthy!

Versatile Meat-based dishes

Why slow-cookers are a god-send... Turn your crock-pot on before you leave for work, and it's ready by the time you get home!

Mince laden with secret vegetables, and the many ways to serve it.

Drinks

Where would we be without a healthy alternative that still satisfies the sweet of tooth?

By 愚木混株 cdd20 on Unsplash

Exactly.

There will be far more recipes in the cookbook, but I won't post all of them here. Because then why would anyone bother buying it?

So, try out a few of the links, and go pre-order the cookbook.

If you liked this story, leave a heart, a comment or a tip and share it around, and check out my other work on Medium and Amazon.

foodhealthhow to
5

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    Awesome! Love how this is laid out. I'm so excited for the book!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Great article, and a great idea for the cookbook. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Brilliant idea!! 💖😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.