Lifehack logo

Create Your Before-Bed Routine

A great day begins the night before.

By Julie L HodgesPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Photo by Tarik Haiga on Unsplash.com

So often when you go on social media you see posts about morning and evening routines. I feel, at times, it's something we should all know how to come up with on our own. Alas, we don't seem to be able to. I, too, have read articles, watched videos, and read entire books that talk about the routines of our lives. And here I am, about to put my own skin in the routine game.

It's more difficult to have a good day when you've not had a good night's sleep. Sleep is what I think about the most when I don't feel my best or when I want a day to be over, for any reason.

When you have a before-bed routine, it signals your body you are getting ready for bed. Your brain kicks in and starts getting ready for sleep, too. It's the same reason we keep habits by doing the same thing every day or every time we meditate in the same place at the same time, our meditations become deeper. Our brains recognize our habits and what they lead to.

There are two basics to creating a before-bed routine, let go of the day and plan for the next day, so you can have your best night's sleep possible. What do you need for the best sleep?

Head Off Decision Fatigue

The more decisions we have to make, the greater the chance decision fatigue will rear its head. Decision fatigue is when you make so many decisions you get tired of decisions. When that happens you just go with what you really want to do; you do the easiest thing that comes to mind. Before you go to bed, you plan and take away the need for as many morning decisions as possible.

Limit The Light

To calm your mind before bed, it's a good idea to disconnect two or three hours before bed. I do two hours because that's what helps me. I turn off the television, computer, and any other screen I may have on. These screens emit blue light, which lowers the amount of melatonin by decreasing the amount your body makes. Melatonin helps you relax and go to sleep. You can take melatonin to help you sleep. It's in nearly every store. (Check with your doctor first. I'm not a doctor and do not give medical advice.)

I also light candles to limit the light going through my eyes. This signals the brain to start making melatonin.

Plan Tomorrow

For my best night's sleep, I must let go of the day and plan for the next. What is going through my mind is all the stuff I did and didn't do that day. I have to find a way to flush that out. I celebrate what I got finished. Then I write down what needs to be done the next day, starting with what I didn't finish that day.

Planning the next day usually isn't too difficult. At the beginning of every month, I make a list of that month's goals and the tasks that must be done to meet that goal. I go through the list and see what I need to do the next day. I also check my Google calendar for any appointments or events that day. In my bullet journal, I first list any of those appointments or events, then I list the tasks to be completed the next day.

What To Wear

Part of planning for the next day means getting out what I will wear the next day, including undergarments, socks, shoes, and jewelry.

Clean Up

I find it easiest to run the dishwasher or wash the dishes and put them away before I got to bed. If I leave them 'til the next morning, it may be days by the time I put them away. What a mess that would turn into. I know it wastes water and soap, but I do one day at a time. It isn't very many dishes, certainly not enough for a full sink or a full dishwasher load. But it makes life easier for me. When you have chronic pain or illness, you need anything that will make your life easier.

While I'm in the kitchen I fill up the coffee maker with water and coffee so all I have to do is push a button. I decide what I'll have for breakfast, too, and gather the items I'll need.

If I see anything that needs to be somewhere else, I put it there. I spend five minutes cleaning up from the day, and put things where they belong.

Create A Sleepy Environment

How do you create an environment conducive to sleep? Candles, of course, are a great start. Music can be very relaxing. There is a lovely playlist on Spotify called Piano In The Background. Find the music you enjoy that relaxes you.

Care For Your Body

There are many things I do to care for my body before sleep. I may need to do a light yoga practice or stretch to relieve some of the tension from the day. I dry brush my skin to get my lymph system going, Then it's time for a warm bath. A few drops of lavender or sandalwood essential oil in the bath is heavenly. In the bath, I often do a face mask and use a pumice stone on my heels and any other rough spots.

While still damp from the bath, I rub some skin oil or body cream all over my body and put some cotton socks on my feet to help the oil or cream sink into my feet and keep them soft and hydrated. I take all my meds before the bath because some help me sleep. If you do this, too, be careful getting in and out of the bathtub, or shower if that is your preference. With oil in the bathtub, it can already get slippery.

Once ready to go to bed, I spritz lavender essential oil on my pillow and sheets. I keep a small bottle with distilled water and lavender oil next to the bed. A friend told me rubbing lavender oil into the soles of the feet and a drop onto the crown of your head also helps you sleep. I don't know exactly why, but it does seem to help.

I get into bed and sit up to meditate for ten or fifteen minutes without a timer. My before-bed meditation ends when it's supposed to end.

End Your Day With Gratitude

Once in bed I get out my journal and write down at least three things I'm grateful for, along with the reason I'm grateful and/or what it does for me. For example, I'm grateful for the bistro set on the deck. Sitting outside while writing feels natural to me and spurs my creativity. This allows me to write more and enjoy time outside. Noting the reasons for your gratitude takes your gratitude to an even greater level. You experience gratitude more deeply.

I suggest taking these tips from my life and creating a plan of your own. Remember that all of this is up to you as an individual. Play with it and see what a difference it makes in your life.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoy my writing, please consider sending me a cup of coffee with kofi.com. Click here to go directly to my ko-fi.com site.

Julie, The Pain Guru

how to
1

About the Creator

Julie L Hodges

Julie, aka The Pain Guru, lives with chronic pain in Nevada, teaches yoga/meditation, reads and writes every day. She loves her life with a husband and dogs, a paranormal team, going places in their RV, and having lots of outdoor fun.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.