Lifehack logo

Concrete Creations

Decor and More

By L. A. McCulloughPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

A few years ago I was feeling creative, so I began trying out various hobbies. I cycled through several projects, but the one I have enjoyed most is creating soy and concrete candles, and other concrete creations. Concrete is relatively cheap and very diverse. Once I figured out the different consistencies needed for my projects, the possibilities were numerous.

My sister-in-law, who has a real flair for decor, works with me to create the candles. I cut the bag of concrete open with a pair of scissors, mix it with water to get a thick sludge-like consistency and then we spoon equal portions into the forms. We then tap the forms lightly against the counter to help remove the bubbles trapped in the concrete. Then, the concrete sits to dry, undisturbed, for 2-4 days. I prepare the wicks while the concrete dries, using scissors to cut them to size and then clamping the tabs onto the wick with pliers.

Once the concrete is dry enough, my sister-in-law cleans out any excess that spilled onto the form so there is no concrete in the wax when I pour it. I super glue the tab attached to the wick onto the concrete while still in the form. Once the glue is set, we add wax to a double boiler on the stove set at medium heat and stir the flakes to help them melt faster. For scented candles, we add essential oils to the wax at this point in time.

We reduce the heat to avoid overheating the wax or cooking off the scent and then quickly pour the wax into the forms. I carefully coat the wicks in a thin layer of wax to help the wicks burn down more slowly when first lit. We tap the forms to remove any bubbles from the wax as well. Once that is done we leave the wax to harden overnight. In the morning, using a pair of scissors, we make a cut in the forms to peel away the wax from the concrete. We then paint designs or add decorations to the concrete portion of each candle to complete the process. The candles are very attractive and the concrete base provides weight and stability.

Not only is it an enjoyable activity but it has created an opportunity for my sister-in-law and I to get to know one another better. We both enjoy being creative and her artistry has added a wonderful addition to otherwise dull looking concrete. From the hobby of creating these candles with her I expanded what I did with the concrete and decided to try making a step spook, which is an unusual and whimsical decoration which usually sits outside on a doorstep

I created a form for the step spook using two pasta sauce jars for the legs and pop cans supported on a stir stick for the shoulders; those were duct taped onto a two-liter pop bottle filled with water. I then duct-taped an inflatable children’s ball to the top of the pop bottle for the head. I draped a throw around the form to see how much fabric I would need and then used a pair of shears to cut off the excess fabric and design the step spook’s cloak. I was then ready to mix up the concrete.

I mixed the concrete in a 20 liter pail. I needed to add extra water to the mix compared to the mixture used for the candles, as I had to soak the fabric in it before placing it over top of the form. It is important to use an absorbent fabric when making a step spook. Once the fabric was well saturated in the concrete, I placed the fabric over the form so it entirely covered the bottom and back. I left an opening in front of the ball to form the head and used a 2 liter bottle for the torso to form a hollow shape once it dried. I added thin layers of extra concrete to the fabric to reinforce it. I left it to dry for 2-3 days and applied another thicker coat of concrete to reinforce weak areas. I had to repeat this process at least one more time.

Once all of the layers of concrete have been applied and dried, the form can be softened and shaped by sanding the rougher edges or clumps. For my step spook I chose not to sand it smooth, as I felt the rough spots added to its character. If I had sanded the step spook, I would have had to wipe off the concrete dust with a damp cloth and leave it to dry off again. Once dried, the spook can be colored or coated to complete the desired effect. For the spook I created, I chose to do a black and gold, layered acrylic pour.

For this, I placed him in a large bin to contain the mess, filled a plastic cup with layers of black and gold acrylic paint and then slowly poured it over the spook making sure to cover his entire surface. This method took two days to dry completely and then I painted the interior of the step spook with gold acrylic paint. Spray paint however, is a much faster method of coloring a step spook both in effort and drying time. To help the spook and its paint job last longer I coated it in a transparent weather resistant sealant.

Once the painting and optional clear coat is dry, the step spook is complete! Step spooks can be used as a seasonal Halloween decoration, a garden statue, or if you like the gothic vibe you can keep them inside. Their sizes and shapes are easy to change by finding and using whatever garbage or recyclables may work for differing sized spooks. Anything I couldn’t salvage from the recycling bin, I was able to find at a second hand store or a dollar store for a very reasonable price. If a spook is to be used indoors I would recommend putting adhesive felt on the smooth areas underneath to avoid scratching the floor or table it is put on. The adhesive felt can be cut to an appropriate size using a pair of scissors.

Although scissors are not the main tool used in the candle creations or in designing the step spook, they are a vital tool for many of the details that complete the creations. Without scissors to cut the wicks and the forms for the candles and the fabric drape for the step spook, these projects couldn’t be completed. When I am engaged in a new hobby, a pair of scissors is always among the required supplies for the project.

crafts
Like

About the Creator

L. A. McCullough

I work in the human services and have always enjoyed creative writing but never shared any of my previous work with people. I have a hobby making soy wax candles, I enjoy being physically active and love nature and hiking in the mountains.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.