Lifehack logo

A Connection

Sometimes We Connect Unexpectedly

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
10
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

I was going to use the Rolling Stones original of "Connection" for the music on this but I prefer the Montrose cover, which was the first version that I heard.

Something happened today while I was creating a story that made me think about how often there are connections that we are unaware of until we see them, but in hindsight, they were always there.

Sometimes people see these as fate or destiny, but they were often bound to happen anyway.

So What Happened Today?

Two things that I never expected to happen connected today.

A couple of years my friend Les and some other Vocal Creators proposed a new community called "Hiraeth" which has no exact English equivalent. The nearest translation is a yearning or longing. You can read about it below.

Then I was putting together a story to share in the community below and some comments on previous articles remarked that I had not included and Welsh folk music.

I then realised that I had never knowingly come across any Welsh Folk Music, but my delving unearthed a few bands, one of which was "Hiraeth" by Ar Log which you can listen to and read about in this article.

So "Hiraeth" was the connection which I certainly never expected to happen, but it did. When you think about it, "Hiraeth" was always likely to be a subject for a Welsh Folk band, just because of the name, the sound and the concept.

So this is what started me thinking.

A few years back I started rebuying vinyl and I prefer to buy records that are a bit special. One of the first records that I really wanted was a seven inch copy of "History Never Repeats" by Split Enz because of the laser etching in the disc which you can see in this article.

That Laser Etched Disc

That day I went out to RPM Records in Newcastle who sell second hand as well as new vinyl, and also vintage record players (which is where mine came from). I started flipping through the singles and the second or third one was the one that I wanted for only three pounds.

No this was a lucky coincidence, but of I was going to accidentally find that record, then somewhere like RPM was likely to be a source. So again there was an unexpected connection. I wouldn't call it fate or destiny, because if it hadn't been there I would have gone online on Amazon or Discogs where I have my store, and it is quite amusing the number of people who are browsing and then find me there.

Connections are only made when things are already in place.

You will know of the connections that I have made with cats. Initially, I was just going out for a walk, to keep myself fit, taking photographs of anything then some cats came and posed, and even wanted to be stroked and then a connection was made.

Now, on almost every walk I make I see a cat that I have met before, and sometimes there are even new kitties.

On Vocal we can connect by sharing other's stories and our own. You will see that I often share my stories to enhance the piece that I am writing.

I also share others' stories rather than write out the required text myself, and that then starts to build a connected web of stories.

You will see at the end of this piece the is a link to XXXX plus a few Top Stories. That enhances the whole web of knowledge and connects us to our Vocal Creator friends.

Thank you for reading.

social mediapop culturehow to
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    "Connections are only made when things are already in place." I couldn't have said it better myself. Everything is somehow connected in some way. It's a matter of whether we realise it or not.

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    I like the way you reminded us that connections are made when things are in place.

  • You do an amazing job of connecting us with one another, Mike.

  • So many connections on so many levels and so little time. Good perspective you have here.

  • Judah LoVato5 months ago

    Quite a cool thought, and it brings to mind "We start to see what we look for". Thanks for sharing!

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    I do believe we are all interconnected in some ways . How can we feel someone’s when we are oceans apart. Have you ever tried EBay?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.