Lifehack logo

5 ways to decrease your Screen Time in 2020

and be more efficient with your phone

By Savannah SturgeonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
4

In 2019 I wanted to decrease my social media time. I went from an average of 6 hours a day to an average of about 3 hours a day! Given that social media is part of my job, I find this to be a huge improvement. So I wanted to share some of the tips and tricks I used to get off my phone and on with life.

ZenScreen App

This app will hide all social media and content generating apps from your phone at a set time at night and they won’t reappear until the next morning at your chosen time. I set my phone to hide all my social media apps at 8pm and they do not reappear on my screen until 10am the next day. What I like about this app is that you can easily override it if you need a particular app. I need Spotify at 7am for the gym, so I can override the restriction for Spotify and still keep Instagram and my email hidden. It’s also a rare app that physically removes the apps from your phone’s home screen, rather than just locking them. This app was great for kickstarting my new habit.

The Reward system

Every week I would check my daily average (iPhones automatically log this). And each week that my average decreased, I would reward myself! I’d do a face mask or grab a diet coke. Just something small to celebrate me putting my mental health first.

Space App

I used this app when I was in a more advanced phase of my digital detox. This app is tough love in a digital form. You can set your monthly goals and personalize your restrictions, but this app is not above sending you a little notification when your exercising unhealthy screen time behavior. I liked this app because it was super customizable and held me accountable.

Meditation

I had the bad habit of checking my phone as soon as I woke up. Instagram, email, you name it, I was on it at the crack of dawn. So I stopped looking at my phone and instead, meditated for a few moments on something very specific. I don’t meditate for 30 mins or anything intense. I simply sit up in my bed, and while I drink a big glass of water (which I set on my nightstand the night before), I meditate on all the things I am grateful for. It may seem simply and easy, but it was one of the hardest habits to change. Waking up and looking at my emails and Instagram always woke me up to a sense of urgency and stress that I had become dependent on to get me out of bed. But now, when I step out of bed, I am fueled by gratitude and I look forward to giving the day my best self. This step was what really formed the lifestyle change for me. I now see social media as an added bonus to all that I already have.

Name your reasons for screen time

We tend to give each other a hard time for being on our phones. But the reality is, many of us use our phones and social media for our jobs or to connect with family and friends far away. All of my immediate family live in other states, so we are often catching up over a group chat or a Facetime. Many of us run social media accounts that provide part of our income or span of influence that allows us to expand our businesses. When you name the reasons for why you are on your phone and give yourself permission to have designated screen time, it makes it easier to identify when you’re using your phone efficiently or not. Ask yourself “Am I using my phone for a specific reason that contributes to an element of my life? Or am I bored and looking to fill time?”

When I am scrolling Instagram aimlessly – I'm usually bored or filling a void. Sometimes I’m just seeking entertainment, which is also fine to me. A funny dog video brings a lot of joy. And that’s worth it.

When I’m uploading content or editing photos – I’m creating content for viewers to enjoy. So they will continue to read my blog and we can have a community relationship. And I will continue to have a job.

When I began to name the “why” behind my phone usage, I became way more intentional with how I spent my phone time. If I was on it for business, I gave it my full attention. If I identified that I was on my phone for entertainment, I made sure to set a time limit.

Here's hoping by December 2020 you'll be able to see a sunset without taking a photo of it. That's the real test, isn't it?

social media
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.