Lifehack logo

3 Rules to Accomplish Your New Years Resolutions

And enjoy the process

By RJPublished 4 years ago 4 min read

The human brain is excellent at formulating ideas, but not too great at following through with them. As creatures, we get so enthused with the possibility of success and fulfillment that we start out in a dead sprint and run out of steam quickly. I can hear all of you already, "this year I am going to quit smoking, start a diet, drink more water, start my dream business, save more money, etc., etc." We all have the best of intentions, but in reality, how many times have you followed through with these ideas you were so passionate about? This year will be different because you are dedicated to making a change, and together, we'll make it stick.

Rule Number One: The Cure to Doubt is Consistency

As a writer, I go through phases where I am determined to be financially independent solely on my writing. However, I worry about what others will think, I expect the results to come quicker than they do. I am heartbroken when my audience does not grow as fast as I think it should. It breeds a toxic cycle that eventually leads me to give up. This is a natural fact of human nature, motivation or passion does not yield results. We live in a world that is dominated by technology that gives us instant gratification. We see the overnight sensations and the college dropouts turn billionaire, but these cases are rare. You can not replicate their path, and you have to give yourself a chance to succeed. There is a solution to my dilemma and many others that will keep us dedicated to our endeavors.

The simple reality is that becoming a successful freelancer in any regard is difficult. The hardest part is to battle my own mental psyche. If you are experiencing something similar, the solution is to be consistent. Develop a system that is manageable and realistic. For me, I decided to post 3 articles a week. No matter how I am feeling, I put the time in throughout my week to put together three pieces of work that I find meaning full. I do my best to look back on past work positively because, despite the cringe, it shows growth.

I do not focus on the number or the views I concentrate on enjoying my work and standing by the content that I put out. Dedicate yourself long term. Try it for a year, or two, and see what the results are. If you want to exercise, go for a walk every day, get in the gym for even ten minutes every day. It is impossible to fail. You will notice a change in yourself if you stay consistent and give it time. I would guess you cannot remember your failures from years prior, what do you have to lose from just trying? The point is to start small, develop a system that works for you, and stay dedicated. The real risk is following the status quo and being miserable.

By freestocks.org on Unsplash

Rule Number Two: Decrease Social Media Use

When was the last time you checked your phone? Are you reading this on your phone? Research suggests that people check their phones, 80-300 times a day. We all fall victim to the dopamine kick we get from a like or a follow, but to truly make a change, you are in a constant battle with your self-doubt and the expectations of others. I encourage you while you are trying to pursue your resolutions to step back. It will allow you to stop comparing yourself to others and to truly enjoy the small successes. You will get more time to invest in your blossoming business, to work out, to eat healthier. It is instinctual to check your phone and fill up the slow moments in life. You may find you have more clarity and a direct vision of where you want to go.

Do not quit, social media can be a fantastic tool for networking and advertising. Just cut back and sit with yourself, figure out how to keep yourself entertained and productive. If your lively hood depends on social media, there are sites like buffer where you can schedule your content and automate the process. The world will continue, and you will notice that everyone keeps posting without you, caught up in their own phones.

Rule Number Three: Quantify Your Goals

When we set resolutions often, we say, "I want to read more." "I want to get a better job." "I want more money." Instead, we should set realistic goals that we can implement immediately. Opposed to "I want to read more." Let's say, " I will read a book a month." Setting goals with a plan to accomplish them will set you up for success. Live for the long term, not the progress you will make in a week or a month. The long term effects of your resolution will be worth it. In the process, you will learn how you craft new habits and what obstacles you face on the path. Do you usually get fast food on busy days, but you know you want to eat healthier? Meal prep so you are prepared.

Often our goals are very introspective and tailored to us. You know what is hard for you and what is easy. Writing down your plan, and quantifying your goals in a way that will not overwhelm you is so important. Motivation comes and goes, but picturing your goals and setting deadlines for yourself will keep you focused and heading in the right direction.

It is the roaring twenties, how exciting! I cannot wait to see what you are able to accomplish.

how to

About the Creator

RJ

Find me on Instagram at @awriterwhodraws

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RJWritten by RJ

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.