Journal logo

Writing my first book

And I'm terrified.

By Tawnie J. OviedoPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Writing my first book
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

I’ve never published anything in my life. In fact, this is my first time ever publishing material onto a medium source (if you don't count social media). But that doesn't discredit my years of experience through writing.

I have always been a writer, but I have never pictured myself as a published writer. As an introvert, I naturally live in my thoughts and express myself non-verbally.

Back in college over a decade ago, that’s when I began to discover my love for writing. No, it wasn’t because I was taking an interesting English course, but simply being so bored in classes that I would doodle poetry in my notebook.

The poetry turned into journaling and I found myself writing about my deepest thoughts and secrets as a young adult experiencing the real world for the first time. I romanticized about love and adventure and expressed the things that I could never admit to anyone in my journal. My twenties were very confusing, as for anyone, so writing was my outlet to process all that I was feeling.

Unfortunately, a tragic awakening occurred in my late twenties after losing a best friend to a horrific death. It completely turned my world around and my perspective on life made me question everything. It took me down a beautiful journey back to myself and led me to writing my first book, a memoir to be exact.

Writing has been my healing source and I’m gradually finding my confidence in sharing my vulnerability, something that has been so sacred to who I am. I am even facing the terrors of opening up on social media as I post sensitive topics about my journey. Thankfully, it has been well-received thus far.

I don’t expect this book to be a best-seller, but I just know it’s something I need to do. As if I am being called to do it. I feel that I have a message to be heard and I want to be of service to those who relate to my journey.

Writing this memoir is more than just about being a published writer. It is a healing experience as I channel the different parts of me from the last 10 years of my life. As I finish a chapter, I am metaphorically closing that chapter as well. I know it won’t be perfect and I’m sure there will be a lot of lessons along the way, but that’s the purpose of this whole experience. To learn as you grow. Cliche, yet true.

There’s been days where I can write 3,000 words with no breaks, and other days where I have total writers block and can't seem to articulate my thoughts. My greatest challenge is feeling at times that this book is bigger than me, in terms of the overwhelming amount of information I’m willing to share. Sometimes I become discouraged and want to retract my words, but I have to keep reminding myself that this is what I’m meant to do and it's all for a purpose to help others.

I’m glad that I stumbled upon Vocal to give me a safe space to practice my writing and learn from other creatives. I hope to make connections with other writers and exchange ideas and information. If you've read this all the way through, thank you. Knowing anyone is reading this is much appreciated.

career
Like

About the Creator

Tawnie J. Oviedo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.