Journal logo

Writing Is a Gift

Hello again....

By E.AmaliaPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
Writing Is a Gift
Photo by Clemens van Lay on Unsplash

Writing is such a gift.

By Freddy Castro on Unsplash

Hi fellow writers and Vocalites!

It has been some time now since I have been on a hiatus. It's been sweet and wonderful and much needed. I have been so grateful to see that there has been a steady stream of readers on some of my stories while away.

There has not been an increase in audience nor a decrease, and for that, I am so thankful!

By JOSHUA COLEMAN on Unsplash

Nearly a year ago, my family and I moved to a new city, and the new beginning brought about new challenges (in a good way) and so much inspiration. It has been a wild ride which many of you, I am sure, can relate to.

I took some time to undistract myself. I removed any and all screens or noise as much as I could. I made sure to be fully present as it came to mind, and I embraced the moments of silence along with every emotion or thought that came with it.

It’s great to let yourself feel (even the hard emotions). I found that it was such a great reminder that even in solitude, I am not isolated or alone. It reminded me that I am human, and that is a beautiful thing. I was reminded of how amazing my spiritual life is.

I felt so much repair in my heart and mind as I did this (all in line with my spirituality). I am so grateful for the gift of writing - in this time, I started to write on paper again and fill a journal in a way that I hadn't in a very long time.

By Kate Darmody on Unsplash

I am so grateful for the talent that is spread all over the internet. Specifically, the Vocal community - I am also grateful for the written pieces that stay in a sweet place of secrecy.

The poems, stories, and prose blocks that remain on paper and out of sight from public spectacle or adoration. The ones that are written simply for me to read and reread.

I am grateful for the writers who have inspired me as they write for the love of it and not for the need to please or be praised by the world.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I am grateful for the gift of the written word that allows us to be a global community that celebrates with one another, weeps with one another and laughs with one another.

I realise I am getting a little sappy here, and forgive me for doing so, but I think sometimes we need to make space for the sappy. Make space for the intensity that we are not always comfortable with. This is where so many beautiful stories are birthed.

By sebastiaan stam on Unsplash

We tell stories out of the overflow of our imagination that were either pivotal in our escape from our harsh realities, or we tell them to offer such escapes to our peers that struggle.

The written word is as powerful as our tongues and can bring so much comfort and/or destruction (hopefully, we use it for the former).

So with that, I guess I can say I am back, and I hope that my fellow Vocalites and community will receive me back! I don’t know what frequency will be like since I am still trying to find a real flow with what my writing will look like from here on out.

By Andre Hunter on Unsplash

My stories and poetry will come, and as they do, I hope you pop in on the comments, like, and share as we support one another!

Thank you for sticking around to read all of this! If you have and you are part of the FB communities, I’d love it if you popped this in a thread as I am yet to return to FB….

Cheers my dear friends!

By Kelsey Knight on Unsplash

arthumanity

About the Creator

E.Amalia

Hola! I'm E.Amalia. I've got a penchant for the macabre, weird, and spine chilling genres. Also I write poetry, also I'm a dragon for books.

Drop a ❤️

Subscribe 🖤

Comment 💙

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Houston11 months ago

    Thanks for sharing this. this is amazing. https://www.tellpopeyes.me/

  • E.Amalia (Author)11 months ago

    Wow! Thank you, everyone for the wonderful feedback and the warm welcome back! I am blown away thank you for TS Vocal!

  • Test11 months ago

    Great piece, relatable and love the way you've worded it, very humble and full of gratitude.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    Very infectious positivity and healing grace in your words!

  • Jazzy 11 months ago

    Welcome back!!!! 🖤🖤🖤

  • Alexander McEvoy11 months ago

    Welcome back! Writing truly is magic, as Brandon Sanderson is fond of saying, "It's like a kind of telepathy. I can imagine something, and through the written word, someone on the other side of the planet can imagine that same thing." I'm glad your time off was good for you and I'm excited to see more of your work!

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    Look forward to seeing you back! 😊

  • Joelle E🌙11 months ago

    What a beautiful reflection! Couldnt agree more about feeling emotions. Can’t wait to read ur writing :)

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Wonderful piece. Congrats on the TS

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Love your gratitude story!!! Of late, gratitude has been a key topic with me. Left a ❤️

E.AmaliaWritten by E.Amalia

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.