Journal logo

Workaholic Logic

Passion for Work

By Wanda B HenryPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Workaholic Logic

For Member Only

This is my master mind for Members Only. I have worked in the workforce for the last forty years. I started at the aged of 16 and worked for the famous Lloyds bank as a bank teller. I next I moved to Alaska where my father lived and look through the yellow pages and found a job at a bank. My father had said I was only eighteen I could stay there with him and go to college. I got out on the bus in Alaska and found a job. I was bewildered because I was in Love. My Navy man ex-lover sent for me to come to San Diego. When I arrived the airline lost my luggage? It was a difficult time. A few days after I arrived my luggage was returned. Immediately I start to interview for work and quickly I landed a job in a financial institution and was balancing ledgers. But things did not work out in San Diego, so I had to make a emergency move back to my Moms house in Los Angeles. I started to work for my Mom casting service in Los Angeles. We did get movie to one cast. Things at home were tough and the casting company was having problems. I was always a workaholic. Mom was having difficulties, so I took another Bank Teller job in Los Angeles on the famous Wilshire Blvd. After some months I started to search for a job in a manufacturing company. I started just redoing all their files and organizing a file closet. They really like my attitude, so they start cross training me on all the jobs for the entire company. They promoted me to Technical Supervisor, I was running computer reports on the tape reel type of the 1980 before internet. I did all their data entry and payrolls, and everything was sent reel to reel to Michigan. It was amazing. Then suddenly after being married to my first husband, he decided he wanted to move to Las Vegas. I moved and as soon as I got there, I started looking for work and found a job that said receptionist. What I ended up getting hired to do was Financial Aid in the Tech School Industry. For four years I handled financial aid and that included Financial Aid for school and Audits. I sat in with a VA Audit and I learned about Indian Finance. I was very interested. Next, I got hired to do financial aid for a Cosmetology school. I was very excited to continue with finance. It was near that time that I decided to go back to school but finances kept me under the gun. I than found myself getting out of a bad marriage. I had to move form Vegas and leave my Jewelry thief and criminal husband. He was taking away to jail. I submitted about ten resumes to schools is California. It was a all-male welding school that hired me full time for financial aid.

After about three weeks and after dealing with sexual harassment from both employees and students. I had resigned. After that for the next four years I worked for a career school in West Los Angeles that sold, drafting and electronics and I became as expert at selling. Out of the blue a family member who know of my banking background referred me to a large bank in Los Angeles. They hired me to work, and I became a loan officer for next 4 years. The rest was history. I worked behind the scenes for the next seven years in the entertainment industry. When the market crashed in the late 80’s I moved quickly to entertainment Industry. This is just a little bit of why I would be good for members to listen to. I worked for over 15 companies inside and outside marketing. My friends will get a chance to hear many experiences from different marketing and job experiences. I owned and operated a Real Estate Brokerage for 8 years before 2008 market crash. My membership will post a very educational about how to get a job and keep it. How to locate work. Why choose me, because I have age on my side and real life experience.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Wanda B Henry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.