Journal logo

Why I chose to get the COVID Vaccine

A Health Care Worker's Perspective

By Domingo MirandaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I made the decision to have the vaccine for COVID 19 today. It was a decision that was actually made very quickly for me because I knew working at the hospital, I needed to protect myself every chance I had. The masking, the protective gear are great ways to protect yourself as well, but the Vaccine was like a ray of sunshine in these dark times.

I have made a vlog about my vaccination on TikTok to spread the word around and make a series about the first 21-24 days of the Vaccine to see if there were any noticeable side effects. It's pretty much like getting a flu shot. You'll have a slightly sore arm and you will feel achy at times.

So far so good for me.

I just want people to know that the vaccine has no microchips in it, there's no hidden agenda behind it. It's just a way to not get Coronavirus. I'd rather be bold and get the vaccine than live in fear not knowing if I was going to be some government puppet. Believe me, I don't have a lot to hide from the government. I'm just a man that wants to work hard, go home, and be with my wife and son. That's it.

The fear that people have and the information they consume is all dependent on where they go. If they have positive (no pun intended) people around them to lift up their spirits and motivate them to do better and seek a better quality of life, that is awesome and more of that should happen.

Now, here's the deal. I deal with patients that have COVID head-on. I go into their space, invade their privacy, and help them to the best of my ability. I am already at risk by breathing in the same air as them let alone go into their own personal bubbles, whether it's helping them to the bathroom, listening to what they have to say, I'm there whether I like it or not. I am amazed at how fast the vaccine approved and how it's come quicker than most.

I'm not dissing people for not taking the vaccine and you shouldn't have to listen to others saying you should. The process is entirely voluntary and you can still do your life. For me, working in the field, I needed to do this to protect myself and my loved ones. I've worked with many people of all ages and conditions to know enough about what this disease can do. It's heartbreaking and my heart goes out to all that have lost their loved ones to this terrible disease.

Covid-19 is here and if we don't do something about it, it will get the best of us. This vaccine is a way you can do your part also and if you are ready to get it, then be patient. It's on the way.

Therefore, I'm not saying everyone should go get vaccinated right after reading this story. Get information on the vaccine where you are before taking it. Be informed about it before you go through with it.

To all those that read this story, thank you. I just wanted to share my experience with it and I might make a journal series of this to share with you all the information from my perspective. I'll be as clear as I can and not try to falsify anything. This is exciting, but I will be sure to be careful as I go.

I'll still mask up, put my gear on at work, and do my part to be kind.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.