Journal logo

When a Store becomes Family, and a Community becomes Home

The power of one small shop: The Trainyard General Store

By Olivia PetrasPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
Like

When you become an adult, spreading your wings can be one of the most rewarding things- but it's also amongst the most frightening. After finishing University, I was ready for the next step, and so I moved three provinces away, raring for a challenge. Although I quickly became enamored with the beauty and adventure in this new place, I was still missing something. I was missing the feeling of home- that feeling of contentment when you step into your favourite coffee shop; the amount of comfort you feel when you turn the key in your lock at the end of the day.

Turns out, all I needed to do was move across the harbor- from Halifax (the capital of our small province, Nova Scotia) to Dartmouth. Halifax is the definition of a "big city with a small-town feel". Nestled on the Atlantic Ocean, it manages to combine opportunity, entrepreneurial attitude, natural beauty, and no small amount of hospitality and friendliness. Living close to the downtown core gave me easy access to most of Halifax's amenities, but I couldn't help feeling that something was missing- that this wasn't home just yet. I worked in Dartmouth but often heard it referred to as "the Darkside" with a whole host of jokes about it being host to some of our more rough-and-tumble neighbours. Eventually, accessibility to work (and perhaps a bit of curiosity) won me over, and I moved across the bridge.

A beautiful mural on the side of the store!

At this point, I had been in Nova Scotia for two years. But, I still felt quite alone, and that didn't make coming home to an empty condo after work any easier. My new place- an adorable bachelor suite in an old heritage home- was but a stone's throw away from downtown Dartmouth, and I quickly became accustomed to the two or three streets that had all the coffee shops, breweries, and quaint shops I would need. I started frequenting my favourite brewery (New Scotland)- often alone- but found conversation enough with the bartenders. I started taking my bike to The Bike Pedaler- always needing to set aside at least an hour for that trip- as I would gab to Marc and Betty until the next customer came in. I found a new barber (Chris at Elk's) who I would often run into at one of the pubs that night. I found the best chicken wings money could buy at Jacob's. When I opened the door to New Scotland Yard to get my morning cappuccino, I was flooded with a sense of contentment. And in only a few months, when I turned the key in my doorknob and stepped inside… I finally felt at home.

It was during one of these first few months, on an otherwise normal stroll downtown, that I first entered The Trainyard General Store. I had been following it on social media for a while- I'm a sucker for little shops full of interesting, beautiful, and well made local goods. Stores that you can just peruse for hours comfortably, and which you are guaranteed to never leave from empty-handed. I remember the warmth when I stepped inside, with the owners greeting me from behind the counter. I ended up leaving with a few things- a bag of coffee, a craft, and some form of Dartmouth merch. Small things, but things that made me happy. I chatted with the owners for a few minutes before I left, mostly in regards to their adorable newborn baby who was sleeping behind the counter. As I left, I felt like I had just had a conversation with a friend- and those are the kind of people you'll find in Dartmouth. Random waves on Portland Street, big and grateful smiles from shop owners, and strangers who don't feel so strange.

Another passing thought that crossed my mind was, how cool would it be to work at that shop? I didn't have to wait long to find out! When I saw a post that they were looking for a part-time employee, I jumped at the chance- and have been there for just over a year now. It's only a few days a month, but it brings me so much joy. I've met so many locals and regulars who I am always excited to see come in, and I've had so many interesting conversations with folks from away. I get to talk about how much I love Dartmouth to people who love it just as much as me or explain all the things that make it so great to people who truly want to know. I work 3-4 jobs right now, and people have suggested giving up my very part-time job at the store- but I shoot them down every time. That place, the community I get be a part of on a busy Saturday afternoon in the summer, the happiness it brings me- I can't give that up.

You'll find a little bit of everything inside The Trainyard, from soaps to mugs to DIY craft kits!

The community is what makes The Trainyard so special, and The Trainyard is part of what makes the community so great. Kimberley and Jason Dares are the two amazing humans (who have turned into great friends) who own The Trainyard. And although Dartmouth is still referred to as "The Darkside"- that couldn't be further from the truth. "Dartmouth has been so welcoming and supportive," Kimberley says. Indeed, the local support for our downtown businesses is astounding- our community wants nothing more than to see these downtown streets bustling, and the entrepreneurs on them thriving. "The enthusiasm is contagious. Many other small businesses are around the same age as we are (almost four years now)," Kimberley continues, "and so we've been able to grow alongside one another and with the community, which has been really special."

Of course in any community, some people are struggling to make ends meet- and luckily organizations exist which are integral to look out for these folks. The "Trainyard Connect" is an initiative to support these organizations, by donating 5% of all profits. Thirteen community organizations have been involved in this program since The Trainyard's second summer, with approximately $7,500 being donated to date. But helping people be aware of what organizations do with that support is so important, and so The Trainyard works to help the community understand what work these organizations do, such as promoting their programming and sharing/hosting their events. Donation drives of toiletries, food, and other essential items are often done to help support the programs' participants as well!

Kimberley and Jason Dares, and some of the many ways they have supported local organizations.

The Trainyard prides itself on showcasing Maritime makers, with a focus on exhibiting as many Nova Scotian artisans as possible. 90% of the goods in the store are made in the Maritimes, with 80% being produced in Nova Scotia- everything is Canadian made! The store is known for Dartmouth-themed merchandise- everything from candles, to prints, to shirts- because everyone (especially Haligonians, aka, those that live in Halifax) need to know that you're cool enough to live in Dartmouth! The Trainyard is popular for gift-giving and with tourists, but locals come in regularly to get their favourite soap, coffee, candles, and DIY craft kits.

Never enough Dartmouth merch!!!

Bringing the community together and sharing the beauty of homemade goods are two of the more special things about The Trainyard. To help support this, a community space is located in the back of the shop and used for crafting workshops, which local makers (many of whom are featured in the shop) often take advantage of. It's a great way for people to not only learn how to craft, and learn new skills (from candle making to embroidery) but also connect with others in their community who may share the same interests. Kimberley and Jason were excited to try some new events in that community space- like drop-in craft events- but unfortunately, COVID19 has put a pause on that.

An embroidery workshop hosted in the community space (Hook, Line, and Tinker).

"We opened The Trainyard with this goal of being a community space and feeling connected, but we never could have imagined how big our community would be or the love that we would be shown, as a business and as individuals. In four years we've had the privilege of watching Makers grow their businesses and chase their dreams; we've built friendships with customers unlike anything we could have imagined, we've added staff members that feel like family, and we've been held up and helped by so many incredible humans when we've lost our way or stumbled. It's incredibly humbling to put a dream out into the world and have people respond positively and with so much kindness time and time again. We say it often, but we are honestly in awe of the love and support we've been shown." – Kimberley Dares

A recent drawing from a local maker of the owners (Jessica Sheppard Art).

The Trainyard has been shut since the end of March due to the pandemic, like so many other local businesses. These days, Portland Street is much quieter and a little bit less energized- but we do not doubt that our community will flock in support when it is safe to do so.

Although we are all becoming well acquainted with our "homes" right now, we are missing the places that make home truly feel like home. Having to pick up your beer curbside, not being able to have even a five-minute conversation with your favourite bike mechanic, seriously missing your barber, craving the worlds-best-chicken-wings, longing for that magical morning cappuccino, and not being able to happily peruse your local shops. We never thought we would be missing all these places, nor the people who make them so special. But surely when all of this has passed, we will never take our communities- and the joy that regular coming through the front door can bring you- for granted again.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Olivia Petras

I live in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, and spend many days exploring this beautiful province & reminiscing about past experiences. I owe my love of writing to homeschooled days on the farm, where I wrote lots and just got to be a kid.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.