Journal logo

What's In A Name

Vocal Creators Saloon Name Change

By teisha lesheaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
13
Photo by hay s on Unsplash

Hello,

My name is Teisha LeShea, and I am the current admin for Vocal Creators Saloon. The group has been active for over a year, with over 500 active members. The priority of the group is engaged and maximizing your read count. I've enjoyed being the admin of a group of writers. I've made great writer friends who support me and my writing journey. Although I'm the head admin, I want to reiterate that I'm a writer first.

The main reason for starting this group is because I read many complaints about the current groups not being engaging like the members hope it would be, so I decided to step out on faith and create the change I want to see, which has been one of the best decisions I've made. Being the group admin, I've learned a lot about myself this past year, and I welcome constant change. I make it a priority to constantly keep the group fresh and exciting to be a part of, and I don't want anyone to feel left out.

I want to attract writers from all walks of life to share their stories no matter the platform you write on; someone who has to write and promote what I've written to millions of people can be intimidating and frustrating. Understanding this struggle has allowed me to empathize with the new writers afraid to step out on faith as I did.

I've always wanted my group to be a safe space with less drama and more support. I'm not competing with the other groups or constantly putting down others. What you say here stays here. We are all on different writing levels, and one shouldn't feel ashamed. We are a community that leads with love and compassion.

Anyone who has betrayed that trust will be blocked and removed from the group. That's something I will never tolerate. Online bullying is unacceptable. Belittling other admins in different groups is intolerable; it is DRAMA FREE, and I want to keep it that way.

I now want to introduce our group's name change; what was known as Vocal Creators Saloon is now called Saloon for Writers. I tried to keep the Saloon because other members referred to my group as the Saloon. I also wanted to keep Saloon because it sets the tone for the group and gives members an idea of what to expect. Not to be confused with a salon, this is not a salon; it's a saloon, and with a quick Google search, you will see a clear meaning of what Saloon means.

According to Google, a Saloon means:

Search from Google

If you write for Medium, Vocal, substack, Tumblr, WordPress, blogger, Amazon, Similarly, and any other platform you share your work with, then you are welcome to join.

I had to change because many Vocal writers were leaving the platform. It isn't my business as to why people are going, but I noticed that those left are now lacking engagement because the medium they write for wouldn't fit in the VCS community. I wanted to let you know that I miss you and your support from my mouth to your ears. You still are welcome.

I don't have any details about upcoming changes. I've been receiving treatment for my hands and haven't had the energy to dedicate a day or give much thought to changes. I ask that you all be patient while taking care of my ongoing recovery and updates.

Most of the threads you see currently will stay. Current members enjoy what we already have in place. The newest Medium Mondays thread gives members a chance to post their Medium stories within the group.

social media
13

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I just joined the Saloon for Writers group and greatly appreciate your vision and dedication to make it happen :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.