Journal logo

What Makes Us Read Vocal Stories?

What Grabs Our Attention To Read A Vocal Story?

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
11
A Good Story?

Introduction

You may hate me for what I am going to say, and it may be an explanation for why my reads are dropping off.

Types Of Vocal Stories And Vocal Creators

We have writers who create poetry and write personal things, and usually put out something that is a new take on something, and these tend to get my attention.

We have writers who concentrate on different takes on the same subject or are producing chapters of a book and these I can’t really give my attention to although I do try and drop in and give reads and hearts to show support.

Then there is me, I always try to do something off the mainstream, often persona, observations on Vocal or maybe some poetry and because people are not sure what to expect from me I have a feeling that a lot of people see my Vocal post and just skim past it. Let's face it you cannot read everything that you see, and I have no right to expect people to read my stuff.

The story below is the sort of thing that people will see and think , no way, but I enjoyed writing it itn the hope that someone may read it.

I was speaking to someone today who told me that someone was messaging them with stories to read, something I would never contemplate doing because I think people would block me if I did that.

So What Is A Good Vocal Story

Every day I am hit by imposter syndrome and think should I bother writing anything else. I know my poetry is generally good in my opinion but I really worry about repeating myself and getting maybe into a rut on subjects but think I manage to avoid that.

Even this seems a bit repetitive because I am looking at it and thinking have I said this before.

Sometimes the stories that to me don’t grab my attention are Vocal Top Stories so given that no more of mine will be given that accolade do I even know what I am talking about?

The thing is just because one person doesn’t find it interesting doesn't mean another person will feel the same.

I want to write a good Vocal story but each day I feel that this may be my last, but even with that feeling, I would still find something to write about. I suppose I am like a box of sweets but you never know what you are going to get from me, and some people like certainty and being in a safe place with what they are reading and that is something that I do not really provide.

So is a good story something where you feel safe with the subject or something where you are not too sure of what is coming round the next corner?

Vocal didn’t like my first Titanic entry because it had too many facts and was about the building of the Titanic. Yes, it was not all fiction but there are stories in the challenge with a lot less Titanic related content than mine but it is down to one person’s interpretation.

So What Does Make Us Read Vocal Stories?

For my writing, I think that it can only be my name, but for other writers, it’s the subject they choose and sometimes the lead image on the story. That has certainly drawn me in, and usually, it's a combination of the author and subject.

Conclusion

There are many reasons why we read Vocal stories, all of them are good and lots get our interest. Because they are moderated to some extent (Unlike Medium) there is some quality control on all the stories that are published (although some oddities do slip through the net)

advice
11

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.