Journal logo

What is your favorite way to spend a lazy day?

300 Prompt Journal from Paper to Vocal

By Abigail Adams -The Mad Cow Mob BossPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like
What is your favorite way to spend a lazy day?
Photo by Maria Lin Kim on Unsplash

So I decided for this year I am finishing a 300 prompt journal I bought a couple of years ago. A goal I have for 2024 is to also publish at least one entry on Vocal every single day. These prompts will be one of those posts.

This prompt is another I already filled out. This one is dated November 16, 2020. We had been working on our new home and still didn't have electricity. Our rental home was right down the road so instead of going home every day, we would spend a couple of nights at the new house. Eating by candlelight and enjoying a fire in our new fireplace.

Like camping in a big giant tent.

Lazy days looked a little different back then but we still enjoy spending this kind of time together.

Journal Prompt: What is your favorite way to spend a lazy day?

My favorite way to spend a lazy day is with my family watching movies or playing board games.

There's so much more room on this page (and about 500 more words to get this approved for Vocal) so maybe I should elaborate a little. Give you an example of the fun we have on family game night.

We have a whole dresser dedicated to board games. It resides in my dining room and we have a big guitar pick shaped glass table where we spread out the contents of that dresser. Uno, Monopoly, the game of Life.

We have all the varieties. We even have a complete poker set, with chips and cards in a fancy case. We have newer games as well, like What Do You Meme and Trial by Trolley. (Yes, I am throwing up the names of my favorites, look them up!)

One of my most favorite lazy day memories though, involves the classic game of Monopoly. We were all playing at our old house, the kids were still tiny (they are huge now, no one warned me how fast they get so tall!). My husband and I had already taught them the rules, I was helping our daughter, but my son was at an age where he could control his own game.

The game was going along pretty well, but my husband was winning the game and had so much money piled in front of him. Keep in mind he was also our banker.

Our son was not pleased.

He was still such a little guy at the time and learning new words. I'm sure the word embezzling had come up at one point playing this game. Whether it be that night or one of the many before, my son knew what the word meant.

The game progressed and my son, frustrated with his lack of financial gain, had had enough. His father's great fortune was very suspicious. He starting watching my husband, leaned over the table, counting colorful dollars from his seat.

I continued to help his little sister keep track of her own colorful bills and at the same time try to stop him from knocking the chair over backward in his quest to solve the mystery of his dad's riches.

Suddenly he sat back in a huff. Glaring at his father and his growing stack of fake money.

"Ma!"

"Yes, son?"

"I know why dad is winning," he said never taking his eyes off the offending parent. "He's the banker."

"And?" me and my husband both ask in almost unison.

"He's enguzzling money!!"

I do believe the game ended there, as the adults could not stop laughing and my children couldn't understand what had been said that was so funny.

Our boy is 17 now, he knows what embezzling is, but we still sometimes accuse his dad of enguzzling money when we play Monopoly.

vintagepop culturehumorhumanity
Like

About the Creator

Abigail Adams -The Mad Cow Mob Boss

I have been a writer since I was able to form sentences. I find passion in writing fiction and positive special interest pieces about extra special people! My love of writing keeps me going, but the love of my children keeps me alive!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.