Journal logo

What I've Learned As A Part-Time Freelance Writer…So Far

"The supreme accomplishment is to blur the line between work and play" – Arnold J. Toynbee.

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
11
What I've Learned As A Part-Time Freelance Writer…So Far
Photo by Arnel Hasanovic on Unsplash

While attending vocational school to become a Medical Administrative Assistant with a Medical Billing background, I thought I would stay in the medical field forever. I had my life mapped out as a twenty-eight-year-old woman. I knew what medical offices I wanted to work for and even planned on going back to school to continue my education. Life isn't predictable; we can prepare for it, but it also doesn't turn out how we expected. After seeing Robin Roberts sit behind the ESPN desk every night to give college basketball high lights in the mid-90s, I wanted to work for ESPN. Seeing Jamelle Hill's byline in ESPN Magazine, I wanted to write for ESPN; instead, I enjoyed writing CD reviews for my high school newspaper.

I dreamed about becoming a freelance writer, but I never knew it was possible. After starting Vocal in 2018, I've developed a passion for writing and sharing my story. I'm not much of a risk-taker but, writing is something I would risk. My hobby has now become my passion and, I don't see myself turning back. Since October of 2020, I've been working diligently towards my full-time freelancer debut. Here is what I have learned from being a part-time freelancer so far.

Know Your Worth

From Website Azpascoe

If you pull up any How To Become A Freelancer article, one of the first things they mention is knowing your worth. What does this mean? It's so important to remind yourself why you enjoy writing in the first place. Which helps guide you into seeking potential clients. Does your mission statement align with theirs's? Are you confident when it comes to rates and how much work you're willing to provide? You won't know these things until you start writing and promoting your work. Writing is an art that never goes out of style. You are frequently on a learning curve. While knowing your worth is essential, also leave a window to learn and try new things. You might discover something new about yourself that you can potentially add to your worth list.

Everything That Glitters Isn't Gold.

By Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Before I became serious as a writer, I always listed blogs and publications I dream of writing for; unfortunately, that didn't work out for that publication. I knew it didn't work because they no longer aligned with my worth. When a company seeks you out to become a writer for them, they want you to be a part of the team. They saw value in you and your words that they made an offer you couldn't refuse. Before you jump for joy and say yes, I would strongly advise that you do research. Research the company, the editor at large, look for current and previous writers, know how many other writers you'll be working with asking tons of questions, even the ones you think are silly ask anyway. Although your dream is to be a part of this fine establishment, it's important to remember the person who represents you is you. I allowed my excitement to blindside me in taking the proper steps to ensure that the chance was best for me; after sending over my fourth follow-up email, I promised myself that if I had to send another one, it would be my letter of resignation. My patience ran thin, and I decided to write my resignation.

Dear [Name of Editor]

I am writing this letter because I am afraid that I must resign from the current contributor position I am doing for your company. [Because] I have already provided the articles I was assigned during the October/November [name of source] email. I'm resigning because of the lack of communication between the editor and myself, which has become nonexistent. I've reached out on several occasions for status on articles written by me and received no response. Lack of response has left me confused about my position as a contributor to the site. My resignation is official immediately Monday, March 15, 2021.

Please understand I have enjoyed working with [name of blog] for ten months, but I cannot put forth any additional time and talent without effective communication. I do, however, believe it is in my best interest to resign from your service. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Teisha LeShea

Although it didn't work out, I am still proud to be a part of one of my dream publications. I will be forever grateful and will add it to my resume.

Avoid Writer Burnout

From Website Insight ieeeusa.

Watching tv, cleaning up, and sometimes even taking a hot show is where some of your best creative topics tend to happen. The first thing you may want to do is drop everything and start writing before the "idea leaves you." After a while, you get tired and find it more challenging to be inspired, forcing writers' block and frustration. That, ladies and gentlemen, is writer burnout. Creating a healthy balance between writing and self-care is crucial when it comes to freelancing. You are your manager and CEO, and it's your job to provide some organization to your "company."

Just Say No

By Daniel Herron on Unsplash

A couple of months ago, a haircare blog presented me with an opportunity to write for an up-and-coming blog. The person in charge asked me for my rates, and after disclosing those rates, she stated that they were out of her budget. I questioned my worth at that moment because I thought I was overly charging. I decided to consider that since the sites relaunch that I lowered my prices. The payment was a good incentive but, I was willing to do anything to jump-start her blog. She still said she couldn't afford it and stated that she'd contact me in a couple of months. We are now in March, and she reached out, still assuming I wanted to write for her. She never mentioned the rates or gave a brief description of what she needed and didn't even create a contract. My patience was running thin at this point, and I just made the split decision to decline. I sent over an I'm no longer interested letter.

Congratulations on creating a platform for women with curly hair. I wish I had more resources when I started going natural in 2012. As an up-and-coming freelance writer and you and up-and-coming black-owned blog, I wanted to lend a helping hand. I cut down my rates and was willing to go above and beyond. The lack of organization is very discouraging. As a business, I can not provide the work you're expecting for little to no pay. I've tried to be patient and empathic, but I am no longer interested in moving forward. I wish you and your website the best I hope to work with you sometime in the future. Right now isn't the best time.

After reading her response, "I wasn't doing her any favors for lowering my prices," that sealed that relationship of non-existence. People knowing your name as a writer is one thing, but sometimes you have to ask yourself, "at what cost?" That was a headache I wasn't willing to take on at this time. My intuition has never led me astray. I listened and did what was best. I still wish her the best.

Create Your Own Spaces

Created By Kelsey Reich- A Vocal Creators Saloon Member

After being blocked from a Vocal Facebook Group, I decided to do the unthinkable and create my own group. I've joined a couple of writing groups outside of Vocal, and what I found disturbing is this imaginary prerequisite list of what all writers should do to become successful. If your niche is fiction, then why would I encourage you to interview a celebrity? As a leader, I think it's my duty always to keep you motivated, to praise your strengths, and spend a little bit more time with your weaknesses. If my personal goal is to write children's books, why are you providing information about interviewing? I felt as if the administrator of that group was using the group for her gain. She wanted her goals to be everyone's goals, and that's not how I do things. It's one thing to be in the room with other elite writers; it's another thing to stand in your own space and invite whomever you want. My sole intention is to watch everyone plant their seeds and watch them grow, which is why I created the Vocal Creators Saloon. Different ethnicities, different ages, writing styles, and interest all come together with writing in mind. It's a utopia that I'm proud to create and the love and support for each other is amazing.

Tom Bradbury

Fantastic storytelling skills

Kelsey Reich

Fun and creative writing prompts

Laquesha Bailey

Her effortless Top Stories Pick

Samantha Kaszas

Engaging readers with her personal photos

With my little knowledge, I've mentored a few writers, and I'm so thankful that they are so trusting in me to help guide them on their own. Seeing IG stories like this made me realize that I've found my passion.

IG Story from Instagram follower

Click here to read more of my stories. I only profit off this website through reads and tips, so your curiosity is much appreciated.

If you are looking for a group of writers who supports, provides feedback, reads, like, and provide tips, then join Vocal Creators Saloon. A small community with tons of advice and writing prompts will help you through your writer's journey.

industry
11

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.