Journal logo

Access Denied: Blocked By A Vocal Creators Facebook Group Admin

For Doing The Right Thing

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
67
Access Denied: Blocked By A Vocal Creators Facebook Group Admin
Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

Jealousy is the fear or apprehension of superiority: envy our uneasiness under it. -William Shenstone

Disclaimer: Under Vocal's Community Guidelines, names are kept anonymous

I never thought I would see the day when a Facebook Group blocks me for merely doing the right thing. I follow several Vocal Creator pages to showcase my work and to support other fellow writers. I decided to join a Vocal Creators Facebook group with over 500 members. At the time, I wasn't aware of the administrator of the group. I would see fellow writers post their link and move on to something else. A handful of members within the group started to complain about the lack of engagement so, I began to take the initiative. I created different posts that allowed engagement but also sent traffic to their personal stories and profiles.

One of my favorite posts that I created was for the new Vocal members who never received a tip to post their profiles so others can read and send them tips. I even participated in reading stories, liking, commenting, and providing tips on my favorite stories. This post wasn't to promote any of my work; it highlighted the new members who might have difficulty gaining traffic and gaining tips. The engagement was terrific. I would get messages like "Thank you for the engagement" or "I enjoy this group." Another fun post that I encouraged was for group members to post someone else's work besides their own with engagement and provide traffic to other users' profiles.

It was interactive, fun and I was happy to start the conversation with writers speaking amongst themselves. One day I was trying to think of something fun and creative to post before bed. Members within the group were excited that they were receiving their Vocal bonuses. After spotting the activity, I decided to create a post encouraging the writers who received a bonus to explain their bonus experience. I was hoping to obtain some helpful information not only for myself but for others in the group.

After experiencing my third insomniac episode of the week, I woke up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed at 2:30 am. Like most humans, the first thing I grabbed was my cell phone to look over my last post comments. I noticed that I wasn't allowed to get inside the group. It was at that moment when I knew that I was blocked. The night before, someone complimented me on my posts, saying, "Teisha LeShea for admin" the comment received a couple of likes and comments agreeing with that sentiment. Fast-forward to me at 2:30 am trying to get inside of this group. I still couldn't believe that I was blocked until I Googled the group and hovered over my name. I was shocked and saddened to see this:

Teisha LeShea can't see this post because she is not a member of (Vocal Facebook Group)

I knew the admin blocked me because I couldn't message or view any other personal Facebook page or posts. I never would've thought that the writing community would be so cutthroat and nasty. Do I make thousands of dollars on Vocal? No. But, my frustrations shouldn't remove the kindness from my heart to help others succeed. I thought that's what a community does. I'm not here to bash any writer. I'm not here to encourage a smear campaign against this individual. In the words of Michelle Obama, "When they go low. We go high." I was suddenly inspired to research Facebook and decided to create my own Vocal Creators group Vocal Creators Saloon. My sole purpose was to provide a space that welcomes ideas, encourages engagement, and allows writers to showcase their work and support others. I want to thank those who have reached out and joined the group. I'm not offended, sad or frustrated I see this experience as a compliment. It highlights my strengths as a creative.

Remember to spread love, support, and uplift writers within the community.

Click here to read more of my stories. I only profit off this website through reads and tips, so your curiosity is much appreciated

social media
67

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.