Journal logo

Weekend Warriors

Us vs. The Week

By Kayla DesaiPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Weekend Warriors
Photo by Hasan Almasi on Unsplash

It is time to spark a revolution within my life! I am done fighting the entire week and having the same, mundane correspondence with my colleagues every week. "Happy Monday", "Happy Taco Tuesday", "Happy Hump Day", "Happy Friday Jr." & the largely anticipated, "HAPPY FRIDAY!" Just waking up and repeating the same cycle is not only mindless, but ironically, it is emotionally exhausting. I can't speak for anyone else, but I can definitely say that I am sick and TIRED of working for someone else. Sick of wasting the peak times of my day on making more money for the person above me who doesn't even bother showing up. Tired of doing things the "right" way and not seeing the financial payoff in the end. It is time to become my own boss, take control of my future, and build a legacy that I will gift to my son one day!

At the moment, I am a Regional Sales Manager for two cannabis brands operating out of Nevada. I have been in this industry for almost 10 years, worked retail and wholesale, and I have held almost every position, from Budtender to Compliance Officer. I have learned a lot from all of my positions and mentors throughout the years, but I have professionally matured out of this work environment and it is not the easiest to transition out of. People on the outside looking in think cannabis employees are lazy, incompetent, and/or untrustworthy. Truth is, we couldn't be more opposite. Of course, there are always going to be those in any profession that exhibit these qualities, but for the most part, we are all working diligently to change this narrative and professionalize this industry to help breed the positive recognition it deserves. This industry has had the same challenges for years: responsibilities outweigh pay/benefits/perks, lack of professionalism, inexperienced and ignorant government officials, an unstable market, and lack of tech support. When looking to change industries, the taboo of working in cannabis is enough to never get a call back. Anyway, I won't bore you with the details of that dead-end career of mine, but what I will do is share my excitement on my new endeavors.

I am manifesting a career that is built on my passions, but one that will also provide a comfortable and secure lifestyle for my family. The goals of this year are geared towards finding the medium. Do I want to write a book? Do I sell real estate? Do I want to act? Do I want to start a Tik Tok?! I have a million ideas, but it is time to pause the idea phase and commence the experimenting phase. My hope is that putting it all out there will either inspire others or, at the very least, hold me accountable. If I pull it off just right, it should achieve both.

My top 5 professional/creative goals of 2024:

1. Finish Real Estate License

2. Start writing book/novel/screenplay (haven't decided which yet)

3. Learn to produce beats and get back into the studio

4. Start acting classes (already scheduled a class audit for Monday 3/4)

5. Post regular content on Vocal/Tik Tok/Instagram (hobbies, cooking, cleaning, skincare)

My wishful side believes I can get all 5 of these done in the year.. LOL. My realist side gives me the grace to finish 2-3 of these goals in the year and take pride in the areas I showed consistency and follow-thru. Leaving the remaining goals for next year's reassessment.

As my first post, I wanted to cover a topic that weighs heaviest on my mind on a daily basis. I am done relentlessly battling the weekdays, just to get to the fleeting weekend that is gone before I can even finish a load of laundry! Those of you that understand this fight, please share your story and comment your goals, your challenges, whatever you need to say to remove that block from your path to success!

listindustrycareerbusinessadvice

About the Creator

Kayla Desai

A genuine, down-to-earth mother with a deep love for food, film, traveling, telling stories, and creating.. really anything!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kayla DesaiWritten by Kayla Desai

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.