Journal logo

Vocal Plus Quick Edit is worth its weight in gold

The benefits from these two perks can boost your eanings.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Vocal Plus Quick Edit is worth its weight in gold
Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

I know there are creators who write for Vocal Media who are questioning whether or not to join Vocal+. The idea of paying money to a site where you are trying to earn income might not sound feasible to a struggling writer. In this world of Internet scams, it is wise to suspect that something sounds too good to be true but I am a witness that Vocal+ is indeed all that has been promised.

I do have one regret and that is that I was not able to become a founding member. I simply did not have the $50.00 to pay at one time by the deadline so now I have $9.99 deducted from my bank account each month. This gives me additional motivation to write because I always want to earn enough so that I don't miss that $10.00. I have had months in the past where $10.00 seemed like $100.00 when I did not have it.

I am sharing my story to encourage others and let them know that Vocal+ is not a scam. I see the questions on the Intenet as well as in Facebook groups so I want to set the record straight. In May of 2020, I wrote an article detailing the life of soap star Kirsten Storms from childhood until the time the story was printed. I shared it in a number of Facebook groups and until a few days ago had only a little over a thousand views. I had assumed that writing about this soap vet who also was a DISNEY child start would bring me a lot more reads but it did not.

In June of this year, the actress announced that she had a cyst removed from her brain, and last week she told her online followers that she was taking leave from GENERAL HOSPITAL which is the soap that she works on. Instead of writing another article, which would have taken about an hour, I took advantage of quick edit which is a feature that is available to Vocal+ members. I was able to update soap fans on the actress at this point as well as her soap character's upcoming storyline. I also edited a few errors.

It took less than 20 minutes and I shared the story again in Facebook groups. Now in a matter of days, I have over 3,000 additional views. Let me add that I have joined more groups since last year so I had more -places to share the story. I am certain this also played a part in the additional reads. To be fair I must also explain that the article which can be accessed below is considered a soap spoiler and breaking news regarding a popular television personality.

Breaking news on celebrities almost always is big news with their fans. Kirsten Storms is trending right now because of her medical condition so you could say I struck while the iron is hot. I don't know whether or not my other articles that were quick edited gained additional reads because it would take too much time to go through all of the over 1,000 articles to find out. The story about Kirsten Storms happened to show up today as number 10 on the first page of my stats.

If I were not a member of Vocal+ I would not have access to the feature to do quick edits. At this point, I have edited some articles because of errors, and others were updated with more current information. At this time you cannot change the title of an article with quick edit so I am thankful that my story about Kirsten Storms had a title and headline that could still be utilized. Those who are Vocal plus members should keep quick edit in mind, not just to fix type o's but also to update information.

I encourage Vocal creators to consider Vocal+ because of the many benefits. When you join you automatically make more money per read and you have access to challenges that are not available to regular Vocal members. With Vocal plus you can withdraw your earnings at $20.00 instead of $35.00 and there are more perks in the works. Click on the link below to find out about them all.

Let me reiterate that I am not promising anyone that a quick edit will increase your views as mine did but just letting Vocal creators know the possibilities. As mentioned earlier I am certain that joining additional groups related to GENERAL HOSPITAL increased the potential. Even so, as mentioned earlier I would not have been able to update and edit the story about Kirsten Storms if I were not a Vocal+ member and if quick edit was not available.

I had earned a little over $8.00 on this article in the last 15 months. Quick Edit gained me close to $20.00 more which is the equivalent of what it takes to pay for Vocal+ for the next 2 months. Thank you to the Vocal team for heeding the voice of the contributors and adding quick edit. We eagerly await the ability to change the title and headline. Perhaps at some future date, Grammarly might become a part of the platform which will help catch grammatical errors prior to an article being printed.

Let me add something as a final word of encouragement. I write for another site Hubpages which has always had the feature where you can edit articles as well as change headlines and titles. On this site I read that when you update a story it goes to the top of the Google Searches as if you had written a new article that gains new views. Hubpages has a feature where you can look at your views on individual stories daily and I have noticed that many of my edited articles,(but not all) indeed have received increased views. Good luck Vocal+ members and happy editing.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.