Journal logo

Vocal Deep Cuts 7

Another curated selection of underread and underappreciated pieces by awesome Vocal Creators

By Paul StewartPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 5 min read
29
Vocal Deep Cuts 7
Photo by Angelique EMONET on Unsplash

Look at that awesome picture. I mean. It's purposeless, but, looks fancy. What a lovely showing of pepper. Anyway, time for another round of Vocal Deep Cuts. We are on the 7th one. How the hell did that happen?

(I know, one followed by two followed by three etc.)

If you are new to the series, basically, this is where I round up a selection of underappreciated and underread Vocal pieces (predominately poems). It is called Deep Cuts after the term used to describe album tracks by recording artists and bands that perhaps were not singles and didn't get as much airplay but are even better.

There is a lot of content published to Vocal on a daily basis, and even with the best strategy in place, it's hard to keep track on absolutely everything and show it the consideration it deserves.

My goal with this series is to help by shining a light on some pieces by the amazing Vocal creators we have in our midst.

Let's stop the chitterchatter and get on with this thing!

One of My Own - It's a Journey

In the grand tradition of this thing, the first piece I'm highlighting is one of my own.

I've decided rather than dipping into the extensive back catalogue of stuff I've written, I'd pick one out that I feel could do with a bit more love that was more recently published. Mantric, meditative and a lot of things you might not expect from a guy that grew up in Glasgow.

Now that self-promotional nonsense is out of the way, let's get down to the nitty-gritty.

"Time-Shifting" by Grz Colm

Grz is a fantastic writer. He is always very encouraging, friendly and kind, too. He writes a rich variety of things, including stories, non-fiction pieces and even reviews of TV, film and other forms of media. This really encapsulates a lot about time and is a brilliant exercise in brevity. One of my favourite things. Enjoy it.

Stab Me With a Pen by Tina D'Angelo

So, I had been aware of Tina on the platform for sometime, as she would often pop up being very lovely, kind and encouraging in the comments section of writers I follow. I have no idea why I waited so long to dive into her work, but, I am glad I did. I fell in love with this piece and feel it says a lot about what writing from your bloody heart involves. It's dark, but heartfelt and relatable. See for yourself!

The ones that got away... by Alexander McEvoy

Alexander was another that I have been aware of for sometime, but, never taken the time to sit down and read anything by. Until now, for this week's Deep Cuts. He is always very supportive and encouraging in the comments section of people's work that I love and we got into a nice chat on one of my pieces, Men - When Did You Last Cry? - and I appreciated his input into the discussion. This poem I have selected stood out to me, because I loved the poem and there is so much emotion in it. Loved every line of it.

Upside Down Days by Celia in Underland

Celia is a very new writer to the platform who I first read something by when she got Top Story for her awesome piece Ophelia. That transfixed me and it was enough for me to hit subscribe. She has since been active in my own comments sections and others, being an incredibly encouraging addition to the Vocal community. I then came across this poem, and thought it was so clever, emotive and she took it from start to finish so perfectly. Please show her some love and appreciation!

Misery Loves Company by Kendall Defoe

Kendall is a very prolific Canadian writer who has many strings to his bow, is inventive, clever and has a fiendish sense of humour. There was always going to be a piece from Kendall in Deep Cuts, because he is also, like many I highlight, a good supporter of others. He will give an encouraging word or if you are fortunate, an extra bit of poetry as a comment. This is definitely a chin-stroker and I love the format and the way he plays it out.

Ode to Rain by Brin J.

Brin is a very talented writer who always finds ways to stun me with her command of the English language. I knew I wanted to include her in Deep Cuts, and when I came across this beautiful piece, all about my favourite type of weather, rain. It is breathtaking and I wish I had written it myself, but if I had, it would have been different, so it's best that she wrote it.

to drink the ocean by L.C. Schäfer

Yes, I copied and pasted her name to make sure it looked just right. She has written a wide variety of different pieces on Vocal from fiction and poetry to guides and other thought pieces. Her collection of work is a mine of just high quality. She also has a great sense of humour and is very good at being encouraging and supportive. This piece is, for someone who by their own admission "does not do love poems", a sublime love piece full of real emotion and heart. I had to dive quite deep into her work to find it, but glad I did. Have a look.

Chemical Love by Rachael MacDonald

I can't remember what led me to read something by Rachael, but one of the first of two things I read was this beauty. I love the format and the wordplay. It's so creative, without losing emotion and the other pieces I have read so far by Rachael are equally as heartfelt and creatively clever. The image is the perfect accompaniment to it.

Snow Globe by Poppy The Poet

Poppy has the most apt name on Vocal. She is an incredibly prolific poet. She's also an incredible poet and is very encouraging to others, including myself. This is just lovely and another example of her excellent use of language to stir the emotions. I could say a whole bunch more, but I'll just let her powerful use of words do all the talking. It's sad and heartbreaking, but written so beautifully.

So, I hope you enjoy the selections I've made this week. I continue to just love doing this series. It really is a lot of fun for me and I'm glad it still seems to be going down well with everyone else.

If you have not read previous editions, the links to each are below.

If you like, you can also take a look at my profile here.

listfeature
29

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Thank you! I read and enjoyed the lot!

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Paul, you've got an eye for catching the little gems that fell through the cracks! I've got to a couple of these already and WOW. Great job!

  • Sara Wilson9 months ago

    I agree on the picture! I always look at the pictures, but this one in particular caught my eye as well! Good choice. The stories as well!! Still one ofm y favorite pieces you've kept up on. :)

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Nice pic to start. It was the first in this series to make me hungry, lol. Another amazing array of talent, rightfully showcased. Can’t wait to dive in after I wake up enough haha. Thanks again for all you do, Paul.

  • Just as I get down to 50 open tabs you go and post this 🙈😂 Lol. Sounds like another great selection from your introductions, Paul. And some new to me writers (which will also mean a ton more open tabs to investigate their work too 😂). I’m excited! As always thanks for your work to pull this together ❤️✨👌

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Just caught up on these stories and like always, you've picked some really great ones!

  • Missclicked9 months ago

    excellent series, I find so many amazing writers here!

  • I know everyone you've featured except Celia! I gotta start from there first! Thank you so much as always for putting this together!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Hey Paul, I am well behind in your Vocal cuts.. I must read all these you have shared. I’m thrilled to be included though. It’s great what you are doing. And we think you’re tops! 😄

  • Another excellent selection, Paul. And the only one I had read previously was yours.

  • Amanda Starks9 months ago

    I love this series. Slowly catching up, but it makes me smile to see how many of these creators and their work I recognize! Such a great selection this time around. Can't wait to read the ones I haven't discovered yet. Thank you for all you do, Paul!

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Thank you so much for the mention and kind words Paul! Thank you for always being so encouraging. Can’t wait to read the others as soon as I have a chance too.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Another great list! Thanks Paul!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Terrific!!! Loving this!!!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Thanks for another great list, Paul! I'll be digging in!

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Great lot you got here Paul. I hope to finish them all soon. Great job of catching us up.

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Thank you for posting a link to that piece. And poetry, you say? It sometimes goes that way. I read it one night Under hot fluorescent light, In a small hometown café. 🙃🙂

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I am super behind on reading damn near everyone’s stuff, but I’m gonna have fun playing catch up once I finish the stories I’m working on. Thanks for another fine curation. 😊

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    Wow Paul! You’ve curated a selection of fabulous writers and their pieces as usual 😁 also you’ve put me up there, thanks 😳 not sure what to say but I appreciate it! And you chose the poem I’m most proud of

  • This is Excellent ❤️📝😉💯👌

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Great picks!!

  • Tina D'Angelo9 months ago

    That was so nice of you to include me. Thank you so much!

  • Another good selection, what vegetable is next under your knife ? Peppers this week :)

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Thank you for the shout out! Definitely going to check out the others on this list 😁 You are very kind. I like String Theory better, maybe just because it rhymes. https://vocal.media/poets/string-theory-wg1zh502h9

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.