Journal logo

Turning 30

Life At 30

By Cherish Lipford Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Birthday Girl 🎂🎈🥳

I just turned 3o on July 1. I was so scared and thought I was going to cry on my birthday. Turns out I didn’t cry at all. I guess this is a day that we all fear and have to embrace. Most people think 30 is old. We start to think we are no longer young. I believe this is because we know we’re getting older. Some of us think that we’re running out of time. Truth be told I feel like my life is just now begining. There were so many things that I didn’t get to do in my 20s. Like flying for the very first time. Omg my first plane ride was a bit scary. So scary that I thought I was going to be sick. Although I felt sick it felt good doing something. I never did before. It felt good to fly and see the world. This was such a great experience for me. So good that I’m already planing my next trip. I believe there is no certain age . Or time limit for things to be done. Time doesn’t wait on anyone. No matter if your 20 or 50 live life. Do things you never done before. Take that road trip you always wanted to do. Go to school lose weight eat healthy. Get that new hair style. Buy that dream house or car you always wanted. Your in control of your own destiny. Everything starts with you. When I was 21 I spent most of my time tending to my daughter. I had to give up so many things. When your a parent you have to make sacrifices. Yet, I’m still grateful for this journey. I have been able to experience. Choose to live everyday be the light that you never thought you could be. I just thought I’ll share that 30 never felt better. Life doesn’t stop when you have kids as well. There are trips and fun activities that you can plan. I believe 30 is the age to tackle everything you believe in. Including goals, it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks. Do what is best for you. Whatever makes you happy and gives you peace. I found myself putting off a lot of things. 30 is just a new mile stone to be honest. A new jorney to be completed. Getting old is a blessing I feel like it should be celebrated. I know we all think about new problems and old age. Like knee problems and back pain even gray hair. This would be a good time to work on some of these issues. Like choosing not to eat so late. Watching what we eat, and of course more water intake. These are all things that can help us have a well balance healthier lifestyle. Think of long term goals you would like to complete. Write them down or make a list. Once completed reward yourself. Ladies I know we’re really worried about not having our ducks in a row. Everything will come together with time. If your worried about your love life and not finding the right one. Or even if it’s marriage. Focus on your self and goals. Truly focus on being that person that you want to be. Before you know it everything you ever wanted. Will be right at your footsteps. Sometimes we get to consumed with time. Not completing things when we wanted them completed. Even plans not going as plan. Those things are all apart of life. The earth was not made in a day. Unfortunately we can’t do everything we wish to do in a day. Give your self credit and time. Eventually everything will fall in place. Cheers to reaching this new chapter in my life. Thirty is the new beautiful.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Cherish Lipford

Enjoying the little things in life. Love traveling seeing the world. My motto is you haven’t lived if you haven’t failed. Looking to embrace every moment and opportunity I get. Taking it one step at a time.🌻

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.