Journal logo

Things To Remember If You Are A Writer

Don't Put Too Much Pressure On Yourself

By Carol TownendPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Things To Remember If You Are A Writer
Photo by Hannah Olinger on Unsplash

When I started taking those first steps to turn my writing into a career, I struggled. In fact, many writers, no matter how much they enjoy it will tell you the same thing. I was too focused on getting eyes on my work, rather than enjoying the process of learning, which really hindered my ability to write.

I have been writing since school, but it is only over the last few years that I took my writing to the next level. I have a couple of stories on my kindle e-book store which are mostly those stories I wrote on my platforms that I turned into e-books.

My aim for doing the above was just to test the waters. I am still working on my sales, however, I am fairly new so I am mindful that it will take time. A new independent author doesn't get credit overnight!

I am also working on several other books, three for kindle and another I started a couple of years back with an independent indy publisher which you can view here

This is a book that is complicated to write because of the nature of the story, hence the reason it is taking me a while. I am still perfecting the characters, but the book is still going to be written.

Good stories do not happen overnight!

I have been writing on vocal for a number of years, and I am still trying to hit that 'jackpot story!' It is the same with my books, however, I haven't been publishing books for very long!

I also write on Medium and I both write in and edit a publication

The publication was started by myself and my husband. My husband is the main owner, while I am an editor, though we both run it jointly. There was no option to add me as a joint owner, so it was better to add me as an editor.

Creative Passions is growing with writers and followers now, though we are not a massive publication. We started with the aim of creating a place that allows flexibility in writing and rules, as we believe

no writer is perfect but every writer is talented.

We accept all kinds of writing from fiction and true life, LGBTQ writing of all kinds, poetry, mental health, life experiences and more.

Our writers truly enjoy writing with us, because although we have some rules, we make allowances for some imperfections.

There are important things to remember as a writer, particularly if you are just getting started. These are:

  • Don't be too hard on yourself. Everyone makes mistakes.
  • Don't be too strict with your schedule. Remember you have to have an outside life
  • Don't become too concerned with earnings and stats. Becoming too concerned can put you off writing.
  • Write about whatever makes you feel at ease. Do you have experience in a topic? Are you good with poetry? Can you write fiction?
  • Niches can be restrictive. It is ok to write in a niche but expand to other niches because that can expand your creativity further.
  • Don't become too grammar obsessed. We all make mistakes, even the best writers do. You can check your work after the first draft.
  • Enjoy the process!

Nowadays people write a lot. Letters, stories, essays, documents, Journals, Poems etc;

We use a laptop or a computer most of the time, though it is still beneficial to use pen and paper to plan out thoughts as it can get your brain working more efficiently.

For those who can't use pen and paper, just use your notes section or open word on the computer and take notes from there.

Of course, many writers work hard to make a living, and some do write to earn, though;

Don't become too wrapped up in writing to earn all the time.

The best way to practice is also to make some time to write for fun.

Enjoy the process, enjoy the work!

If you would like to view my kindle store, then you can do so here:

https://www.amazon.com/author/caroltownend629

Thank you for reading my story.

Hearts are all welcome, and tips are too though they are optional.

You might also like these stories below:

advicebusinesscareerfeatureindustryworkflow

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    This is really great advice. Top story material. I will take your advice to heart. I have always written poetry, that is my love, but I am broadening my outlook and horizon.

  • Doc Sherwood2 years ago

    Really good advice here. I'm another who started writing at school, and I've always believed the creative process itself is far more important than any recognition or income you can generate from it. Sometimes, like just recently, I'll be in the middle of a big arc and then I'll just want to bang something else out, typing it straight onto Vocal! So I completely agree likewise that you shouldn't be constrained by a niche. Twenty-nine years on I'm still learning new ways to tell a story and express what I'm feeling, and for me there's nothing more rewarding than that. When writing is your life, you know it, and you don't confuse it with a means of making money (which you can do any number of other ways). So, "Enjoy the process, enjoy the work" may be the wisest words of all in this very true essay!

Carol TownendWritten by Carol Townend

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.