Journal logo

There is a formula for happiness in marriage

cherish what you have

By missPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

That day at the entrance of the supermarket, I met Yanmei, a junior high school classmate. She drove a Mercedes-Benz and sprinkled dog food in front of me. She said that she accidentally sprained her left foot some time ago and could not step on the clutch. Her husband had to change her to an automatic transmission. car.

​​

When I got home, I saw Zhao Gangwo holding this novel on the sofa and grinning, and immediately became angry: "Can two taels of gold pop up in the novel? Yanmei's husband, in a few years, will put his own The small clinic has developed into a private hospital, petting Yanmei as a child, and Yanmei sprained a foot in exchange for a Mercedes-Benz. As for you, except your forehead is brighter than others, there is no comparison." Just like a resentful woman, can you stop." Zhao Gang took the novel and moved from the living room to the bedroom.

​​

It is said that when a woman gets married, she jumps into the honeypot when her life is good, and she jumps into the fire pit when her life is bad. I belong to the latter. After more than ten years of marriage, someone else's husband who used to be on the same starting line has thrown his own husband a dozen streets away. Zhao Gang was still standing still.

​​

One night, Zhao Gang accidentally mentioned to me that the manager of their department had quit and this position was temporarily vacant. Hope suddenly ignited in my heart. I figured that Zhao Gang is also an old employee. He is usually meticulous in his work. If he is active, he may hope to be promoted. As soon as I said my own thoughts, Zhao Gang said, "If you eat radishes, don't worry about it. Who should be the leader of the company will be arranged by the upper management." cake.

​​

A few days later, Zhao Gang staggered home with the smell of alcohol, and fell directly on the sofa. "Drinking with whom? Unconscious." I made him a cup of tea to sober up. "Xiao Hao has been promoted to manager, please invite everyone to dinner." When I heard that the manager's seat was out of play, I suddenly became cold.

​​

I no longer have any hope for Zhao Gang's promotion, and the two of us have become "ice-like" respecting each other, and occasionally only talk to each other for the sake of our children. The rest of the time, non-interference in each other's internal affairs.

​​

During the Spring Festival, when the family had dinner together, Zhao Gang and I both forced our faces to smile. My sister saw the tricks, pulled me and asked, "You and your brother-in-law are in trouble? When you were happy, your two faces were stretched longer than a cucumber." No progress." I sighed.

​​

"Isn't my brother-in-law very good to you and our family? I also envy you. My family earns a little more, but I spend half a year outside the home. I have to go to work and take care of the children, and I have gone through the vicissitudes of life. There is a happiness formula in economics, happiness = utility/expectation. For example, if your husband gives you a bonus and gives you 1,000 yuan, but you expect him to buy yourself a LV bag of 10,000 yuan. Divide 1,000 by 10,000, and the happiness is only 0 1; but if your expectation is to have your husband treat yourself to a western meal of 200 yuan, the happiness is 5..."

​​

The formula for happiness? I looked up, just in time to see my own face in the sideboard mirror, an unhappy face. I remember many years ago when I brought Zhao Gang to my house for dinner for the first time. It was also this mirror that showed a very satisfied and happy face. At that time, Zhao Gang even borrowed the money for renting the house. Now that he has a house and a car, I complain all day long.

​​

I don't know since when, I became so worldly, blindly envious of other people's husbands, and hoped that my own husband would also be able to do great things and let me live the life of a rich woman. However, the desire was shattered again and again, and I gradually became a resentful woman, and the happiness index also tended to zero.

​​

My sister and I went back to the dinner table. My brother-in-law said that it has been difficult for him to start a company in the past few years. In the first few years, he invested with almost no financial return. Courage to persevere. Brother-in-law said affectionately: "Happiness is not necessarily a luxury in life, but mutual understanding, support and common progress."

​​

I glanced at my husband, he just smiled and didn't say a few words during the meal. "It doesn't matter how much money you make, as long as you live a good life, we'll be happy." The father saw her husband's embarrassment and immediately made a relief.

​​

Perhaps it was his father's heart-warming words that touched Zhao Gang. I saw that his eyes were red and tears were swirling in his eyes. He raised his neck with a glass of wine and swallowed the tears. Seeing the sadness on Zhao Gang's face, I had mixed feelings in my heart.

​​

Instead of being troubled by desires, it is better to live each day happily. I decided to try to reduce the denominator in the happiness formula.

​​

I was buying a tutorial book for my child on the Internet that day, and I happened to see "Silver Saddle and White Horse in the Spring Breeze", and took a photo for Zhao Gang by the way. Zhao Gang said happily, "Good book, good book." A book quietly shattered the solid ice between me and Zhao Gang. Although there was still a lot of broken ice, I heard the sound of ice cubes melting slowly, but each other The slightly relaxed expression made me sleep soundly that night. It turns out that the formula for happiness really makes sense.

​​

At this moment, our school organized a physical examination, and the report showed that I had gallstones. I appeared to be indifferent, but Zhao Gang repeatedly urged me to go for a re-examination, and he had to accompany me.

​​

After the diagnosis was made, the doctor said that this thing cannot be removed, and it can only be re-examined once every six months. If the particles become larger, surgery is necessary.

​​

When Zhao Gang came home, he checked the Internet again and told me not to eat too greasy food, not to eat egg yolks, to exercise more, etc. After dinner every day, I have developed the habit of sitting on the sofa and watching TV. However, Zhao Gang urged me, accompanied me, and insisted on walking 2 kilometers every day.

​​

I deeply realize that Zhao Gang loves me more than himself. Apart from not making a lot of money, he is quite good at taking care of the family and raising children. If I lower the expectations in the happiness formula, we will be very happy.

​​

So, when we were walking hand in hand, Zhao Gang and I talked about the happiness formula. I told Zhao Gang that in the future, I would try to reduce the denominator of the happiness formula to reduce his stress. Zhao Gang helped me straighten the shawl and said, "I'm very moved by your thinking, wife, don't worry, I will work hard to make the molecules in the happiness formula bigger in the future. Let's work together to double the sense of happiness."

​​

Soon, my birthday will come. Last year, when Yanmei celebrated her birthday, she posted a jade bracelet in the circle of friends. I saw this jewelry in a physical store, and the price was more than 10,000 yuan. When I saw Yanmei showing off, I was very itchy, and Zhao Gang promised to buy me an identical one for my birthday this year.

​​

On my birthday, Zhao Gang took me to the jewelry store to fulfill his promise. At counter C, I saw the bracelet at a glance. It had to cost Zhao Gang three and a half months of salary. Zhao Gang held the credit card with a heavy expression, but he concealed it so that I wouldn't notice it. I told Zhao Gang that I suddenly felt that the bracelet was a bit old-fashioned, and the one that cost more than 3,000 yuan was also quite good. I lowered my expectations, and seeing that my husband gradually relaxed, he placed the order without hesitation. I held Zhao Gang with the hand with the bracelet and enjoyed happiness together.

​​

The summer vacation is approaching. Last year, I made an agreement with my friends that I would take my children to travel abroad this summer. However, this expense was a little tight for our family’s current situation, so I planned to cancel the foreign travel and switch to domestic travel to lower my expectations. One night, my husband asked me when I would travel to the UK and I told him that he had changed his plans. "You don't need to change your itinerary, just go to the UK." Then my husband handed me a card with a smile. "I made a large order for the company, which is a bonus, enough for travel. This time you listen to me, I know you have been trying to reduce the denominator of the happiness formula, but I should also increase it for you Happy molecule. You have fun with your kids, I work hard and maybe get a second bonus."

​​

Listening to my husband's heartfelt words, my sense of happiness instantly burst. My husband and I were doing travel strategies when my mother suddenly called and said that my father was hospitalized with an acute cerebral infarction. Zhao Gang and I take care of my father after we are busy. Zhao Gang has flexible working hours and mainly relies on him to take care of his father. In the evening, I wanted to change my husband and let him go home to sleep, but he was resolute and insisted that I go home to take care of the children.

​​

I decided to cancel the plan to travel abroad and took care of my father with Zhao Gang until the old man recovered and was discharged from the hospital. After that, our family of three newspapers came to Qinghai for a tour. The beautiful Qinghai Lake, the magical sky, the robust cattle and horses, and the vast grassland are also good choices.

​​

My husband saw that many people were traveling by car. He said to me and the children: "Next year, we will buy a luxury off-road vehicle and take you to drive the Sichuan-Tibet line." "Husband, you don't need to put so much pressure on yourself." "There is pressure. Only motivated." The husband was very confident. "Okay, let's work together to create the maximum happiness." My husband and I opened our arms and hugged each other tightly, and my son took the camera to freeze the moment.

​​

We all long for a peaceful life, and we don't know that the most beautiful life is in the dull years, you pay for me, and I love you. My husband and I danced a beautiful pas de deux, and he moved in and out, letting the numerator and denominator of the happiness formula mingle in the rhythm of zooming in and out.

adviceart
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.