Journal logo

The Unlikely Friendship

Historical Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
The Unlikely Friendship
Photo by Tasha Jolley on Unsplash

I can't believe Papa. He would betrayed them like that. You see ever since I was young I knew them. I would play right here under the Oak Tree. Job was always my friend. He would pick me up and carry me along the field. We would play hide and seek. We would sing together. When I was sick, he would tell me stories. He was the best friend I known. He loved me and I loved him. He was like a close friend. I would take my supper under the Oak Tree and share it with him. Although I told Papa that I wanted fresh air and that I was sick of the big house. Job's family were kind and gentle. They were good people I tell you. Good people that never did anything wrong. I could trust them for everything. They were my childhood. Papa would always be about his businesses while mother was running the house. They had no time for me. Job always had time for me. Sometimes I would ask if he could read me stories. But now Papa is trying to take him away from me. He's trying to divide this home. Sometimes I think he hates the love I had for Job and his family. I tried everything. I tried arguing with him in front of mother, in front of church, and in front of his friends but he just doesn't get it. I gotta to do something. I gotta fight for them. I gotta to change this. But how am I gonna fight with Papa? Sometimes I just break down. Sometimes I just want my own freedom. Life seems complicated. And life seems confusing. My only hope is to talk to mother. She might understand me. She knows what it is like to deal with Papa. She knows the kind of man he is. Maybe she can make peace between us. And stop this horrible thing from happening. Mother, why does father have to make things complicated? He has the power to save Job. He has the power to free them. Why must his family be in chains? And mother said, Papa has his hands tied. He has no choice. He has to do what must be done otherwise we will lose everything. I'm sorry Zax. And that's when I realize it is up to me. I am alone. Within days, my friend will be gone. I will lose everything. I will lose comfort. After searching endlessly and traveling a little ways, I stood throwing rocks by the river banks and seeing two strangers talk. I came a little closer. And they talk distinctly. I moved a little closer. And I heard about the Underground Railroad. The strange men who did not look around here. They had a map and they were intensely talking. I stumble and they heard me. My leg got caught. And they begin to come toward me. I was screaming in pain and fear. They said Boy what is your name? And where are you from? I cried Zax from New Acres. My family own the field nearby. They said Did you hear everything we said? Are you interested or do we have to silence you? I said, If you could help my friend Job and his family. They've been with us since I was born. My parents want to sell them for finance. And how could they do this when they have done nothing wrong? Could you could you do something? Please. They said as they lift me up and remove the rock on my leg. Have them meet me here by the river banks tomorrow. So the next day, a few days before the auction, I requested a feast to celebrate good times with my parents knowing when my parents ate their meal that they will immediately rest and with wine they would be sleep for many hours. After being reassured about them, I told everyone else that I have to meet someone and required protection. I started walking toward the way and sneakily found the back door to the cabin of Job's family and call softly for Job. And Job came uncertainly, I told him to come with me quick with his family and not to argue. He complied and we walk the secret path to the river banks. It was very oddly quiet and after sometime we thought there were not coming. They finally came and the strangers met Job and his family. Although Job was scared, I reassured him that my parents did not know. Job gave me a huge hug and shook my hand while his family jump on the boat. The strangers told me to come for my safety. Until Job asked and I could not resist afterall I was twenty something and I did not have a home without Job. I was his protector as he protected me from Papa's neglectance and mother's void. As soon as we got to the other side, we saw lights from fire and a band of bounty hunters were we first started and knew of the long journey to freedom.

history
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.