Journal logo

The Speed Of Time

How It Has Altered For Me Recently

By Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.Published 8 months ago 4 min read
1

Time is such a strange thing.

When I was younger, time always felt like it was going quicker and quicker.

Everything always felt like there was never enough time.

In everything, life felt like a blur.

School went by so quickly.

Work felt like the blink of an eye.

Sports had clocks that sped down too fast.

Time always felt like it was going lightspeed and I was behind.

Over time, I guess I started to learn to sprint faster.

Somehow I figured out how to get more done in that time that always quickly felt like it was slipping through my fingers.

In figuring out how to get more done, I have accomplished quite a bit.

I've grown my Faith.

I've had a wonderful relationship.

We've been married for nearly 2 years, but have been together as a couple for 9.

I'm thankful to have a great relationship with my Family.

I've got wonderful friends in my life who I'm always excited to be with (even if it's not always as often as we'd like due to distances).

My career has been amazing.

Multiple awards, even more nominations for awards.

Speaking on stages in front of giant crowds, which sometimes still boggles my mind to think about.

I've had the honor of running an amazing podcast where I've met incredible people.

I've written over 250 articles on Leadership which has been an exciting journey.

In the physical aspects of my life, I've accomplished some things I'm incredibly proud of.

I've completed 2 Spartan Ultras (50 k./31 mi. races with 60+ obstacles), plus a number of other Spartan races.

I've been a martial artist for 25 years now.

I've competed in martial arts tournaments internationally, always medalling in events I've been in.

Plus, I was an NCAA DIII Lacrosse athlete.

This isn't even mentioning all the places around the world that I've been blessed to travel to - Italy, Greece, Hungary, Serbia, Mexico, Venezuela, plus the many States I've been to.

All of this I have managed to accomplish in just over 30 years of living.

This has all happened, but it also all felt like it went by so quickly.

Much of it, though so impactful in my life, is like a blur.

Not dissimilar to a dream.

You know where you are in the dream.

It all feels so real.

Yet when the dream has finished it feels so distant.

You almost question if you can recall any of it.

It's not that I didn't thoroughly enjoy every minute that has passed - in time I have even learned to enjoy the things that felt horrible in the moment.

The time though, speeding so quickly.

It makes it feel so distant.

Driving quickly on the road, you see all the scenery, but it also quickly falls into the distance.

For most of my life, time has felt like this.

However, recently this has changed dramatically.

More often these days, I find myself accomplishing about the same amount in my life (sometimes actually more), but the speed of time has dramatically slowed down.

So often, I find myself thinking so deeply, about my life, about the world, about the future.

I come to what I "feel" should be the end of the day, but it's only been a few hours.

Time has stretched out in a way I never thought it would.

I've always thought about a lot in life, but with how time feels so slow, I find myself having about 100 times the thoughts flow through.

Even today, so much has happened.

Based on how time has been in the past, I feel that today should have been over 2 hours ago.

Yet, my day is only about halfway through, I will likely be up another 6-8 hours depending on when I find myself falling asleep.

I wonder why time has changed so dramatically over the past few months?

Is it because I have gotten into Flow States more frequently?

Is it because as we get older our experiences give us new ideas that simply change our perception of time?

Is it because I've been working on having a healthier lifestyle, so my body is working better?

Is it because I have gone into a new mode of work where I have been pushing myself to think about things more, differently, and express those ideas at higher levels?

Have my efforts to reduce Dis-Stress in my life changed how my mind is able to perceive time?

Could I simply be going insane?

I wouldn't put any of these past the realm of possibility (especially the last question, and yes, I am laughing at myself, something that I have learned to do much better in my life).

The speed of time is such a strange thing.

We would assume that "time" is a stable structure, especially since we measure it.

Seconds, minutes, hours, days, weeks, quarters, years, decades, centuries, millennia.

Yet, none of us actually experience it the same.

These changes for myself I see neither as good nor bad, simply different.

They make me intrigued to see just what else will change in the coming time.

workflowwall streetindustryhumanityhow tohistorycareerbusiness warsbusinessadvice
1

About the Creator

Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.

Creator of the Multi-Award-Winning Category "Legendary Leadership" | Faith, Family, Freedom, Future | The Legendary Leadership Coach, Digital Writer (500+ Articles), & Speaker

https://www.TheLeadership.Guide

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.