Journal logo

The Moments Before Hard Goals Are Achieved

The Emotions Going Through Me Right Now

By Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.Published 5 months ago 3 min read
3

Sometimes, when you set a Goal, you don't realize everything that will actually go into it.

This year I made the decision to write for 365 Days straight.

I'm not quite there, but with only days left now, it has been a roller coaster of a year.

It is very interesting having gotten this far.

When I started the year, I wasn't really sure I would be able to accomplish it, to be honest.

However, I knew I needed to challenge myself.

It's an incredibly important part of Flow States, finding the right Challenge-to-Skill ratio.

To really unlock Flow, you are looking for a Challenge that is at about 4% more than your Current Skill Level.

Another way to think about this is that you need to be in Eu-Stress (aka Good Stress).

I had done 30 Days straight of writing which after getting the basics wasn't terribly difficult for me, so I knew I needed to go much higher.

I also knew that it takes approximately 66 Days on average to develop a Habit, but it didn't sound like it would be much more difficult than 30 Days.

Plus, I wanted to start a new Marketing initiative for my Business.

Taking in all of these factors I thought that writing 365 Days Straight would allow me to meet the Goals that I had.

So, here I am at day 358.

A large part of getting here has been decreasing my overall Stress so that I could get to Eu-Stress when I began writing every day.

That Eu-Stress Zone is the spot where the door to Flow States opens.

In doing this, my Ideas have become clearer, I've come up with a lot of new Ideas, and I've helped a lot of people along the way which was Incredible.

In terms of Work, I feel that I'm at the best I've ever been.

With the end of the Goal in sight, a few Emotions are going through me.

Part of it is an ease and comfort, with a feeling of Confidence that I have what it takes to get to the end.

Habit almost feels too weak of a word for what writing feels like to me now, in some circles, they may call it a Lifestyle.

I know that I will get to the end without a Challenge.

So, that is going through my mind.

There is also this bitter-sweet feeling of knowing that the Goal is almost complete.

In a way, for so long, the Goal felt like a "far off" thing that there was almost a comfort of it being "in the Future".

With it being nearly here though, I know that it will no longer be "in the Future", it will be "Here" and then "Past".

That is definitely Bittersweet.

However, there is also another feeling of Hope and the desire to go Further and Stronger.

I am thinking about "What's Next?"

I believe that "What's Next" for me is to go 1,000 Days straight.

It's another Goal that feels Challenging, but now that I'm almost at a Year, I feel, though difficult, it is within reach.

There is a sense of Pride that goes into me thinking that I have the ability to go that far.

However, in thinking about this, I also realize that I need to Celebrate where I am now.

Working with Leaders, I know that most people are far too Focused on "What's Next", whether it's the Next Goal or the Next Problem.

I am no exception to the rule of "Most People".

So, I am also using some of this time to really take in what I've Achieved this year.

This year has been incredibly Blessed in terms of what has come.

All of these feelings are mixing and turning through me at different rates and moments, and it is really quite interesting to Experience.

workflowwall streetVocalpop cultureindustryhumanityhow tohistoryfeatureeconomycareerbusiness warsbusinessadvice
3

About the Creator

Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.

Creator of the Multi-Award-Winning Category "Legendary Leadership" | Faith, Family, Freedom, Future | The Legendary Leadership Coach, Digital Writer (500+ Articles), & Speaker

https://www.TheLeadership.Guide

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    I never knew there was such a thing as Eu-stress which is good stress. To me, all stress is bad stress, lol. Also, congratulations on writing consecutively for 358 days! 7 days more to go! And I wish you all the best for your 1000 days challenge!

  • Lana V Lynx5 months ago

    Those goals are impressive, Cody. Writing every day is a really good habit, I do that with my research notes - write down an idea or question to research but writing a story a day would be too much for me, taking away time from my main responsibilities of a college professor.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.