Journal logo

The Elephant in the Room

Vocalizing my life in 2024 (A #200 Challenge Entry)

By Kendall Defoe Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 4 min read
17
The Elephant in the Room
Photo by Inbetween Architects Jerome Charignon on Unsplash

So, what do I want from Vocal in 2024?

I really thought that 2023 would be the milestone year. I turned 50, lost certain people in my life both famous and personal. It was the anniversary of certain other events in history that were commemorated and discussed in the media. It was an ugly and sad year which I wanted to be over.

And here we are with another challenge.

I never knew that it was number two hundred. I have not been counting them out myself, and I am sure that I have entered far less than half of them. But I am proud to see that the page has been successful enough to keep these challenges coming. I myself have no wins, but I have been lucky enough to have Top Stories in many of them with the hope that someone else might enjoy them.

And many of you have done so! I am always astonished by the generosity and interest shown by my fellow readers and your comments keep me aware of my many strengths and weaknesses as a writer.

So, I thank you…and I am considering some of the questions included here:

1) How has the past year shaped my goals?

Well, as I said, I have reached some personal milestones and I am very aware of my strengths and weaknesses. Having over two hundred pieces placed on my page over the last year (almost half my total output) means that this is no longer just a hobby. It is a way of life. I will keep at it.

2) Genres and Writing Forms

Let me be honest here: there are many communities and groups that I have absolutely no interest in. I will probably never write about sports or cooking while I add to my contributions. I prefer fiction, poetry, non-fiction, and certain aspects of geek/nerd culture and will continue to let any of my other odd thoughts and ideas spill out on the page.

3) Skills to Hone

I have been told many times that I should take in easier on myself. This reflects in my writing habits and finished output. Seriously, I have more doubts about what I write the more I put my work out there. So, I want to make sure that I just let me stories say what they have to say without stepping over their lines and characters.

4) How often will I write?

Whenever the mood hits me, which seems to mean almost every day (notebooks and reporter’s pads still play their role).

5) How often will I read your work?

Now, this is one area where I have been at fault. Many of you have read my work and claimed that I am well-read. Perhaps I am, but that does not always include the online world I live in. I promise that I will find the time to step away from social media and other distractions to let you know how I feel about your creations.

6) Collaborate/Connect

Sorry, I am not much of a collaborator. But I do not mind connecting with other writers. This seems to be part of the deal we have made here by joining such a page. Many people seem to think of writers as some sort of tribe or club, and that is often true when I look over the challenges, add my own work, and take in the comments and critiques. But I still work solo.

7) Support

Well, as I said, I will continue to read and add my thoughts to what I see out there. Tips might start to come from my page…if I do not need to make as many pennies as I did last year. Attitude not finance is the key.

8) Challenges and Creativity

I admit that the challenges have poked and prodded areas of my brain I did not know needed the touch. I may have never tried to write science fiction, or be so blatant with my confessions if there were no incentives to write them. And I do not mean the money. I have no great hopes for future wins, but I am looking forward to pushing myself into other genres with different prompts.

9) What to Finish

I have two pieces that I began as additions to the “Chapters” group, and one of them is beginning to obsess me. This is theAddictionpiece, and I think that creating a story about a man who views the world simply as a mass of pulp he can squeeze and manipulate with his wealth and power while dealing with his drug use could be an interesting ride. Stay overwhelmed.

10) My Impact on Vocal

The hardest question remains the last one. I do not know what I want my impact to be. I tend to see our work here like tossing small stones into a very large pool of waters. Some ripples might be felt; others might be ignored. If anyone gets a laugh from my work, or shares it with a friends, or is pushed to read someone that they had never considered or heard of before, then I have done my job.

So, it is now 2024. I congratulate all of the Vocal staff on making it to this significant number of challenges and hope for a lot more of them. I have many stories to share…and perhaps another addition to this challenge to create.

Oh, and the elephant in the room?

You figure it out...

A Poem by Kay Ryan

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Vocallisthumanityfact or fiction
17

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    Your outlook on 2024 is relatable and honest. Although you may not have won a challenge YET, your writing is inspiring and you are a writer with or without the awards. Best of luck to you this year, and congratulations on turning 50! What a major milestone! ❤️

  • Honest, realistic & with just enough of a challenge to yourself to keep pushing you. Well done.

  • Annie Edwards 4 months ago

    Love this!! My favorite part is when you talk about the small stone and its ripple effect. Beautiful analogy ❤️❤️ And those small ripples are bigger than we think :)

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    Very well thought out like all of your work. I'm not sure if I'll enter this contest or not, but it is thought-provoking. Thanks, Kendall!

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Quite a bit here I can relate to. Thanks for sharing, Kendall!

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I'm sorry, elephant what now. I think that this challenge was a devious plot by Vocal to make us cringe. I hope they like it when the table is turned. Great way to tell it like it is K. I am snooping on everybody to see what they say.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Well this all seems jolly reasonable!

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Great title for your goal for 2024. I enjoy reading this 🙂

  • There's no room to talk about the elephant in the room 🤣🤣🤣 Like you, I'm not much of a collaborator either. I prefer working solo. I look forward to read everything you post!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    This was very down to earth. Very humbling also. Writing is a tough job that we have to work at in order to find our voice. You are very book smart and have a wide range in musical taste. It all comes through in your pieces. Thank you for sharing.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    This is a very honest, well thought-out and reflective piece on what you want from Vocal coming in the next year. I agree with you on the collaboration aspect. I’m fine with making connections with others on here, but I’m not big on collaborating when it comes to my writing; I’m more of a solo writer. I also hear you on the tipping; it’s not a matter of if I want to do it, it’s a matter of whether I have the money to do it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.