Journal logo

Tested

Tested through it all

By Ditra GravesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Tested
Photo by Arisa Chattasa on Unsplash

Have you ever said to yourself or out loud that you would do something for free because you were just that passionate?! Well, I have been saying for an extended period of time that I love training dogs so much that money really isn't. Ha! I don't think I ever said it like that but something along those lines. My heart really was to be available to for a security position that was given to me, and my current employer had me on a schedule that was a hit and a miss at times. The opportunity came to do two things that I have a passion for all at one time at the same job. The condition was a pay cut but everything else sounded so great. I made the transition and quickly realized what was initially presented to me was not the total truth. Was this an opportunity to do two of the things that I enjoy at one time in a new environment, absolutely... BUT it was the other stuff that I was not expecting.

How many times have you been in that place where you felt the immediate abort mission? That, this is not how the plan is supposed to go. Well, I've personally been in that place before, but I stuck it out. This time, I had come to a place of, I'm too old, this is not what I was told, I took a lost coming here. I was quickly reminded that everything I had an issue was directly about me. I had to ask myself was I being selfish and just being honest I was and stated within myself... I DON'T CARE. Many times, we want to abort process because it's not what we want. I had to take a step back and understand that everything happens for a reason and there is a divine purpose. I had to have a mind shift to understand I may have lost things in the naturally but what do I bring to the atmosphere. It takes a mature person to acknowledge where you are. I was in a place of simply being burnt out. People and the jobs prior using me to build their platforms to push their vision without the gratitude for the continuous work and the missed opportunities in my personal life. After so long we really have to be upfront with ourselves and others. It really took a checker to pull me back in to say it's bigger than how you feel right at this moment. It's so much bigger and you have so much to do than just work a job.

So now is the time you have to ask yourself, are you being tested? I had to ask the same question for myself. Things continue to be thrown at me. I continued to push and fight in the right what to better the place and the position I believe that I've divinely placed. In short, I haven't left and I'm still pushing, and I see the small indentions that I'm making in the damage system. I want to encourage you, whatever you are facing. Put yourself aside and look at the bigger picture before you move. You are simply being tested to go to the next level.

Here is to you taking a step back and checking out all angles to better prepare for the next level to grow and process. Don't worry, we are in the process together. We will and shall be a greater impact to those that we come in contact with, and we will be successful in every area.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Ditra Graves

I am a writer and photographer ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.