Journal logo

Sweet Visions and Sweet Pancakes

By Tracy L

By Tracy LawsonPublished about a year ago 4 min read

It's been a long time since I've written an article or a story. I usually can write, read, and do a little bit of this, that, and the other.

Over the years, I have experienced some issues with my eyes and didn't realize how much of an impact having vision issues would lead to some drastic changes. I stopped writing my stories and even as well as stopped reading. I would read very little because I couldn't see the words on a page. I missed valuable steps in recipes when I would bake and cooking wasn't as good as it used to be in my early 20's. I stopped watching television and spent a number of days on my laptop struggling to keep in touch.

I had frequent headaches, migraines, blurriness, fuzziness, and was always tired all the time. I would doze off right in the middle of writing and plotting my novels. I had tons of novels bouncing around in my head that whenever I would start to write, I would get a headache. I would immediately dim the screen so that I could see better. I would also increase the size of my text, and then I'd give up because I'd have teary eyes.

My creativity started to suffer as I began to give up and adjust to a world where I couldn't read a simple book, solve a crossword, and write.

In the past years, I have been to many eye doctors about my headaches, eyestrain, light sensitivity, and not being able to read. One eye doctor refused to give me a prescription for bifocals or progressive lenses. That was about a year ago. He told me to keep using reading glasses so I did.

This year, all that changed and I visited an eye doctor who finally listened. I was diagnosed with three different 'age related' conditions and finally got the glasses I needed. A week later, I got a call to tell me that my glasses were here and I rushed to get them! Moment I put them on, everything became so much clearer! Day by day, my eyestrain left. Slowly, my headaches left. My head feels better and I'm sleeping well! I don't wake up to headaches, eyestrain, and tired eyes.

With that taken care of, my creativity returned full blast. I started to see what I'm cooking without squinting and I'm cooking great meals! Such as the pancake in the photo. I'm able to read books and solve crossword puzzles! I was overjoyed! I'm so excited when I go out driving in my car! A world of difference occurs when you can see what you're doing.

The Pancakes

Pancakes are often the easiest breakfast or brunch dish you could make. Add mix to a bowl, add water or milk to the mix, and stir. You follow the directions on the package to a T. You pan fry, use a skillet, or a griddle to cook your pancakes. I, however, don't just add milk and pancake mix. I add extras to the batter to make them more fulfilling. I will add blueberries, raspberries, or even strawberries too. My pancakes are full of protein as well. Instead of using water, I use milk or unsweetened almond milk in the batter. It tastes good with a syrup of your choice.

I've learned to make protein pancakes out of mixes and I'm sure you do the same. However, I take it one step further. I also add a 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract, or for an extra little treat, chocolate chips! Mini chips or regular chocolate chip morsels. To be honest, it tastes like chocolate chip cookies. You can say, "Yum."

Blueberry Compote

I often top my pancakes with a sugar-free blueberry compote. (Mainly because my Mom is diabetic and I'm watching my calories, and sugar, I have made a simple blueberry compote with just 2-3 ingredients.

You can use fresh or frozen blueberries. If you're using fresh blueberries, please wash them before using them. Don't dry them off. Put them into a saucepan and mix. If sugar-free is your route and you use Splenda- it's 2 tsps of Splenda. I don't use Stevia, but being sweeter, try using one tsp. Heat on medium heat, stirring frequently. Compote is done when all the berries have burst.

Optional: Lemon juice or 1 cup of regular sugar depending on how many cups used. If you wish for a sweeter compote, sweeten to taste. Serve warm on top of pancakes or waffles or hot oatmeal. Refrigerate any leftovers in an airtight container.

This compote, when cold, can be put on top of cottage cheese, plain or Greek vanilla yogurt, or as a topping on vanilla ice cream. You can reheat the compote in a microwave safe dish if needed warm.

Hot Maple Syrup with butter

Here's another great idea for hot maple syrup. My late father used to heat maple syrup and butter together.

Pour some maple syrup into a small saucepan with a pat of butter. Heat on low to medium heat. Stir until butter's melted. Serve hot and top on waffles or pancakes.

Chia Seeds are optional.

Pancakes Pancakes Everywhere.

Now that I've created a craving for pancakes for those who read this, enjoy your day with a batch of delicious pancakes.

They're calling you.

how to

About the Creator

Tracy Lawson

Hello everyone. I'm a science fiction, fantasy, horror, real life author. I enjoy writing poetry as well in my spare time. I'm happy to share my stories on here with the hopes of getting out there.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tracy LawsonWritten by Tracy Lawson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.