Journal logo

Starting A Business Is Easy?

The Best and Worst Lie Ever Told

By Remedy MaidenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

I truly respect the men and women who have started a business or businesses with just a hope and prayer. I have participated in 4 to 5 of those internet "businesses in a box" platforms. I know that they can get you results but it also depends on how fast of the results you are looking to see and how often.

Oh, start a business, it's easy? But the problem is that although it's easy to sign up and get started you also have to keep the momentum of the excitement that you had when you first signed up. I have never been good at selling anything to anyone and of course the recruiters make it sound like you don't have to sell anything to anyone...well that's not true. IF I have to convince you that you should TRY or BUY a product then that means I am trying to sell you something. I wish I would have stopped to think about all of this before I signed up for all these "businesses" that I ended up losing passion for or the oh so loving "sisterhood" that I searched for awhile to find dissolved within a matter of months after I signed up.

When you sign up to start, create or have a business you have now chosen to step into a position of leadership, because there is someone out there who will depend on your product or your good customer service etc so, in my opinion (you may not agree and that's okay...) you can't just abandon your platform (especially if you already have a large viewing that follows you and is eager to see all the progress that they were told they would see).

Stay Consistent? When you are working a full time 9 to 5 job and then when you get off work you still have adulting to do, such washing dishes, folding clothes, running errands etc it can be difficult (I didn't say impossible) to put any energy into your business(es). That's why it's important to find something you are already passionate about so you will never get bored of it.

Then my nerves were torn because I was giving it my all, making videos every other day, posting and doing what my coach said but I still wasn't seeing many results, if any at all and I think the reason for that is because with these "business in a box" ideas it's better for you to already have a strong following and people that you can market this idea or product to. So, before people will buy from you they first must trust you. So why would you sell something to people who don't either 1. know of you and 2. don't know if they trust you yet? Like I said I wish I would have thought about all of these things because I wasted so much money, energy and trying to "help people" that were not interested in being helped.

Of course, with each experience I learned different tacts, skills and I made some awesome friendships and connections so it wasn't all bad BUT the money I could have saved or invested it into something that I knew would bring me more results may have been better...

Starting a business is exciting and imagining all the people that you can help is the icing on the cake BUT the execution of your plan is the actual work! You have this amazing and wonderful idea or you have been given this awesome platform to use so how will you use it, how will help others with it and how will you make it pop?

When I signup for the business(es) I was just excited to be apart of something bigger than myself but then I realized that other people can't do the WORK for me. So, you're all signed up! You are YOUR OWN BOSS. It feels amazing to say that you OWN a BUSINESS but now you have to maintain it. If you thought signing up with magically give you that 6 figure riches and wealth sadly no, you have to do the WORK and then WORK has to be consistent. If you want to see BIG results, results that you can live off of you have to PUT in all your ENEGY. So yeah, starting a business is easy and it feels good but maintaining it...well, that's a whole other story and that's the part that most of these "coaches" don't really push or preach.

Anyway, take your time when you "sign up" for any business. There are a lot of scams out there too. So, make sure you ask ALL and ANY question that comes to your mind before you give or invest your money into anything. I thought I asked all the right questions, but now that I'm reflecting on it I didn't ask ENOUGH questions. I know your experience will be much better. Have a peaceful week.

business

About the Creator

Remedy Maiden

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Remedy MaidenWritten by Remedy Maiden

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.