Journal logo

So you want to quit your job to travel; where do you start?

What if I am in my 40's, is it too late?

By sara burdickPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
So you want to quit your job to travel; where do you start?
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

The hardest part of making any decision is deciding to take action. So many of us have a dream to travel and start over, yet so few leap.

Why is that?

It is scary. It is even more frightening if you do not have a backup plan. You do not have a family to fall back on. You have a family to feed, and you have responsibilities. That is different.

Not my situation, so I will only speak specifically to women over 40 who seek a change in their lives. Specifically, those who want to change their lives. Yet do not know how to start and what actions to take.

You also might be thinking the state of the world is not facilitating a significant change at the moment. I happen to disagree. There will never be a perfect time to change your life, ever.

There will always be a reason to stay inside your comfort zone, whether the state of the world, the economic situation, you aren't ready, you have a boyfriend, girlfriend, or dog. You are too tired and stressed.

If you are sitting up late at night googling, how to change my life, how to travel the world, how to quit my job, or how I am too old to change?

Well, so was I 5 years ago, except the difference between me and you is that I took action. There are so few of us who will take that leap.

I see it as if I am on the other side telling you the water is fine, and your excuses are holding you up, and your friends and family are telling you, "do you think this is a good idea?".

Ultimately, the choice is yours, I will throw you a pair of scissors and a rope to jump and join me, but you have to cut the attachments and take hold of the rope.

The scariest part is grabbing the rope with both hands and jumping, but is it the most challenging part?

The hardest part is the what-ifs you have going through your mind; what if I grab that rope.

  • What if I can't get a job after a year of a career break, what if I run out of money, what if my friends forget about me, what if I like being free?
  • What if I realize there is more to life than what I am living?

If you are like me, you will start to wake up and see that the world consists more of the tiny bubble that you are living in. You will also realize that you are being kept pushed down in a job that you might hate, just for the hope of getting a two-week vacation.

Palomino, Colombia

Maybe you will also get a raise, but it hasn't happened yet because your boss thinks women don't deserve a raise.

You sit and plot your revenge on how you want to run into his office and say "I Quit", you daydream about it, but will you do it?

Do you know how good it feels to quit a job you hate? I do; it feels fucking fantastic. To walk out on your last day knowing you just made the best decision of your life?

You will never know if you don't trust yourself to stand up for your worth. It does not have to be to quit your job, but life in general. When you value your worth and know what you want, you start making decisions that you want to complete in your life.

When you start thinking maybe I can take a year off work, what is the worst that will happen, I can tell you. You create a whole new life that is even better than what you imagined in your head.

Your old boss and co-workers are staring out the cubicle window; wait, there is not a window, staring at a mountain calendar, hoping their vacation is approved.

While you are climbing the mountain you saw on the calendar. Then you start to think, well, I do need to make money, and you remember that you always wanted to start a blog to empower other women to follow their dreams, so you do it; what do you have to lose?

Nothing, you fail, and you get up, and eventually, you are living a life that you are happy to wake up living. That depressed feeling, those Sunday blues are nowhere to be found. You left them when you took ahold of that rope I gave you.

We, women, need to empower and lift each other. When you crossed the threshold, you saw a whole group of women who have trailblazed this trail for you.

You never knew they existed, but we did, and we knew when you were ready, you would leap.

So do you want to change your life, or do you want to dream about changing it? One requires action; one involves nothing.

So, where do you start?

I will tell you I always start with why.

I will also always choose action. I have compiled a list of questions to make you think in a free PDF. Instead of asking a million questions here, use this guide to help you figure out what you want in your life, do you want to travel the world, start a business, quit your job, or go remote.

You can do the "thing," whatever it is.

It will help if you start by getting crystal clear on what you want. Start to think about what you wish to, not what those around you tell you that you should wish to or do.

I too have realized that I have been holding myself back, I get stuck in analysis paralysis and don't take action.

Even if it is small, you have to start somewhere.

XOXO

Sara

travel
Like

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.