Journal logo

Simunyé: The Color of Friendship

The remarkable true story of the Disney Channel original movie “The Color of Friendship”.

By Joe PattersonPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 4 min read

On the night of my seventh birthday, February 5, 2000, Disney Channel premiered their latest original television movie titled The Color of Friendship. Now if you were a 90’s kid like me then you would of course remember that in the late 90’s and early 2000’s Disney TV was some of the best and most watched television around and still is today. One of the most watched segments of Disney Channel is DCOM, which stands for Disney Channel Original Movie. The Color of Friendship was one of their earliest original movies, it was also one of their best and most impactful titles because of it’s true story and social commentary.

The Color of Friendship (2000)

The Color of Friendship chronicles the real life experience of Piper Dellums, the daughter of California-bred Congressman Ronald Dellums. The story takes place in the 1970’s during the height of the racially oppressive institution of Apartheid in South Africa. A teenage Piper seeks to have an African exchange student come stay with the Dellums family for a few months while her father Advocates to put an end to the oppressive regime of Apartheid. After her mother Roscoe convinces Dellums senior to agree, the family’s houseguest ends up being a teenaged Mahree Bok, a young White South African girl, from Dundee, South Africa.

Lindsey Haun as Mahree Bok

When Mahree and Piper (portrayed by Shadia Simmons) first meet it is an utter culture shock. Mahree is the daughter of a South African police officer and she is only use to seeing Black people as servants. Piper and her mother Roscoe expected to see a young Black girl when they got their exchange student, so they are also struck with shock. After spending a couple days distant from the Dellums family in their own home, Mahree eventually comes around and opts to stay with the Dellums family. After breaking their ice of differences, Mahree and Piper become best friends and begin a bond of sisterhood as they learn more about their differences as Black and White in the journey of their time together.

Mahree and Piper

The Color of Friendship was adapted from a non-fiction short story titled Simunyé written by the real-life Piper Dellums. The story chronicles Piper’s family having a young white girl from South Africa named Carrie who came to stay with them as part of a student exchange program during the height of Apartheid in 1977. Just like her movie counterpart Mahree Bok, at the end of her time with the Dellums family, Carrie went back home to South Africa and joined the fight against Apartheid. According Piper, Carrie was believed to have went missing and was killed for her efforts in fighting against Apartheid. I’ve always felt like the real life fate of Carrie made this story all the more heartfelt and significant.

Piper Dellums

Years ago I read the story Simunyé by Piper Dellums. I wanted to read it because The Color of Friendship has always been one of my favorite Disney movies for as long as it has been around. This story was truly heartfelt and even heartbreaking when one considers its ending. I’ve always admired Piper and Carrie’s friendship because it reflects many of my own. At heart I also felt a lot of gratitude towards Carrie because she gave her life for a struggle of which she didn’t have to take part in, but did so because she loved her fellow man. This brings us to the reason why Piper titled the story Simunyé. In Zulu language, Simunyé means “we are one”, alternatively it also means “we are many”. I love this word because it is true. No matter our differences, we may be many, but we are also one. Piper’s last words in the story stuck heavy with me.

The Color of Friendship was largely successful, very positively received and had a huge impact, which included winning an Emmy award, the highest honor a television program could possibly win. This movie was one of a kind and was a very unique approach for Disney. This contributed to why it was so successful. Disney had never touched on sensitive topics like racism in such a serious, yet appropriate manner. In the two plus decades since the film first came out many look back on it with even higher and more positive regard as being bold and daring for Disney at the time, as much of the verbiage and tackle of such a sensitive topic might not be as well received in today’s climate.

For all of us who love this movie, we not only appreciate it for being a great part of our childhood, but we also appreciate Piper and Carrie’s story because it reflects our everyday relationships and how we remain as one, regardless of our differences.

“Something magical happened to both of us in 1977, we found our way out of the woods and into each other’s hearts. 1977 was our time, but what my father said was right: “The time for freedom is always.” I know that even if she was killed and her body returned to the earth, the time we shared will live on in my heart forever.” - Piper Dellums (Simunyé).

Much love and thanks to the Dellums family for their leadership in the fight against oppression and much love to Piper and Carrie for teaching us Simunyé (we are one).

movie review

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • M. Lee4 months ago

    I haven't seen this movie yet but it sounds like a good movie to watch for movie night with my kids. Nice review!

  • Sarah Danaher5 months ago

    I remember this movie from Disney, it was my personal favorite of the time. Really well done on the review and so sad to hear about Carrie's fate.

  • Mmakgobane5 months ago

    Stories like this one always remind me that I am still grieving and hurt by the past. I simply can't believe that Carrie was genuine in her "fight" against Apartheid - I am South African so my experience with Boere people is what I expect it to be, not human to human.

  • Phil Flannery5 months ago

    What a great article. I haven't seen the movie, but it is a wonderful story of unexpected connection. It is sad to hear that Carrie was killed for views, when she returned home. I know it was a terrible time for South Africa. Unfortunately I feel like we have gone backwards regarding race and acceptance.

  • Leslie Writes5 months ago

    I didn’t have the Disney Channel when I was as a kid, so I didn’t see this. I assume this is available on Disney + ? I’d like to watch it with my daughter. Great review!

  • ROCK 5 months ago

    Excellent review; I wonder if I can see this in Sweden? You are very good at covering the depth of the show without revealing it all. It drew me in. Good work!

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.