Journal logo

Should You Blog on Multiple Writing Platforms?

Don't sell your soul to blogging

By Sean PeckPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Should You Blog on Multiple Writing Platforms?
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

It’s nice to have a reliable stream of income from blogging like Medium and Vocal Media. The Medium Partner Program has pushed me to become a better writer over the months and I’m excited for what the future holds because I really do think that we’re just getting started.

You can become a Medium member today for only $5 a month using my referral link

A dream of mine was to get paid by writing and helping people out and that’s exactly what has been happening since I joined the Medium Partner Program. I even managed to go from a little over $2 my first month to $25+ the next month through hard work and dedication.

The first time you get paid from a platform online, your whole mindset changes because it really is possible. As soon as I got my first monthly paycheck from Medium with a grand total of $2.38, I knew that I could make this a full-time job in the future and that the best was yet to come. But what’s better than getting paid every month by a writing platform? Getting paid by multiple writing platforms of course and that’s where Vocal Media and Newsbreak come in.

Personally, I tried Newsbreak but I couldn’t quite understand being a creator on it. Don’t let that discourage you though as I’ve seen plenty of writers on this platform get good amounts of checks for being a Newsbreak creator and writing highly-rated stories.

I recommend using Vocal Media as an extra writing platform if you already haven't. I made an article talking about why I wouldn’t buy the subscription but I’ve ultimately fallen into the trap and decided to become a Vocal+ member. While my stories have not been getting any reads, Vocal rewarded me with $15 combined after I uploaded my 5th and 10th articles. As long as you keep posting content you’ll see results soon and that goes with doing anything.

Another blogging platform is WordPress/Bluehost. I’m creating a blog on that website but sometimes I wonder to myself, am I doing too much? I definitely have been overworking and stressing myself out with the goal of writing and making money passively on double-digit income streams but it’s hard to stay consistent and organized.

If you want to blog on multiple platforms, it could be a smart investment 3 years later down the stretch but it all depends on just how lucky the algorithm is for you and how many stories you create. I put more time and effort into articles that s get stuck at lower views than I would have wanted and it’s highly unmotivating.

The most difficult part is when you are just starting out as a new writer on these platforms and it takes an arm and a leg for you to finally get noticed by the algorithm. It’s frustrating and time-consuming if you put your time and energy into something and it just ends up falling flat on your face.

Besides writing, I’ve been trying other ways to make more money online like dropshipping and trying out social media marketing but a valuable lesson that I have to learn to learn is that if you want to be really good at something, value it and make it your first priority. Blogging on multiple platforms is smart if you re-upload and change a little bit of your old content into new blogging platforms but even that can take up a good amount of your time.

The choice is all up to you. Make sure you value your happiness and if you aren’t having fun with it, don’t do it because it’ll feel like another job that you hate.

Thank you for reading, if you want you can connect with me on Twitter. I also have a weekly newsletter about living life beyond your means, it would mean a lot if you subscribed to it!

If you enjoyed this article and it helped you out, let me know by leaving a tip!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Sean Peck

Online entrepreneur with a passion on business, social media marketing, music, and media

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.