Journal logo

Shop Shop until You Drop

Support the Hustle

By Michael J. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Bacon!!! Social Media might have some Deals...

Social is the new Amazon for business. When you are in business, you go to where the buyers are. Most of them young to old are on social media.

For these businesses they have to understand the algorithms they are working with. With Instagram it is more visual, so the buyers will want to see creative pictures, funny/personal videos, and less wordy captions. With Facebook if you go live, aim for hitting the fifteen-minute mark. When you do that it tricks Facebook into thinking your video is more popular than it is and it will garner more traction. Bait the viewers in and build up to the big information closer to the 15-minute mark.

Like you I’m an avid social media user and I’m a co – owner of an online coffee Shop, Coco Bear Café. Learning how to engage our followers/future buyers is a top priority for us. Since you have your stimulus, go ahead and treat yourself to some great coffee.

When it comes to me buying things, budgeting is my specialty. But with social media, I follow people that I have begun to respect and understand their views. It’s hard not to buy from them when they are true to their purpose and their merch is fire.

Two of them are from this event I attend yearly. Ezekiel Azonwu and Preston Perry. Both of these men and the others who perform with them are dope poets. What makes the purchase more worthwhile is seeing them being vulnerable on their social media platforms and how they engage the culture, while at the same time uplifting their families.

On top of that, they are always on top of it when it comes to Black Friday/Cyber Monday sales. Something for 40 can drop down to 20 or 10. At times there could be some other perks as well that you cannot pass up.

Another social media influencer is comedian kevonstage. If you do not follow Kev, go ahead and do it now. This man is legendary when it comes to marketing. He uses anything and everything to promote his brand and those he's associated with. Since 2020, he has created a comedy showcase, promoting black comedians, some known and others on the come up. I have been close to buying a ticket but have not yet. Part of the reason I want to buy one is because it promotes black comedians. The other part is because it is in my face daily. Every day, I see a post by him either by accident or purpose and it always reminds me to support the brand.

Do not lie, after watching that view, you are ready to follow him and go to the virtual comedy show. But wait... There's More!

Now that I got your attention go on and support the kevonstage studios. Download the app and watch exclusive skits and shows. Featured will be Kev himself, Tahir and Angel Moore, Tony Baker, and much more.

With the extra bucks in my pocket, I'm going to make that investment. Yah it's cool to buy clothing, but seeing black men and women changing up the business game inspires me. As a business person myself, I have people in my corner they are look up to when it comes to business.

This past weekend, my former coworker had a business graduation for her students. I have personally seen the progress of her business and it is amazing. Like Kev and many others, she is a head of the curve and is paving her own lane. If it was not for her guidance, my business would not be where it is today.

Therefore, when your fingers are flying through social media think about the businesses. We are making content for you to enjoy and are working at our passion. This is not just another job, it's our art, it's our calling. Buy, support, share, and take part in our story.

list
3

About the Creator

Michael J. Harris

I'm a young inspiring author and youth leader. I hope that through my YouTube and my writings that I can inspire the youth to both do and be more. Building on a ministry of stepping into the youth lives and allowing them to be themselves.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.