Journal logo

I'm The GOAT at Writing

Give me My Writing Shoe Deal

By Michael J. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
I'm The GOAT at Writing
Photo by Florian Klauer on Unsplash

If you do not have this mindset as a writer, you are not in the same league. Ya writing is fun and enjoyable, but this mindset is not one of cockiness. This is you knowing that you are raw at the gift you have.

Growing up playing park district sports, from the jump you knew the standout players. If the stars connected right, these players can make a push at becoming pro. My brother and his friends were like that when it came to baseball. The best of the best in the Chicagoland area. Of course I’m being bias but if you from out where I’m from, you know that the old South Cook Cougars were a force to be reckon with.

My brother was so deep into baseball that he with the help from our father created a workout sleigh from scratch. He knew that in order to be the best, he had to train like the best. When the trainers were not around, he was working. When the cameras were off, he was at home studying the baseball network doing his best to get better. Although injuries derailed his career later on, he still has that same go get it mindset in his career.

Likewise, with writing, it comes natural to me. I might not win all the awards and that’s cool. I’m not writing or reading for the award shows. I’m writing because it’s the air I breathe, it’s part of my makeup. Just to be competing with great writers is a blessing. I would rather lose against someone on a pro writing level than to lose against someone who is not taking it as serious as I am.

Story time!

When I was in college, I would half due some of my writing assignments and still walk out with good grades. I remember classmates telling me they received D’s or C’s on assignments and I’m sitting there in shock. We got the same assignment yet different grades. You see with me; I could throw anything into a paper and make it sound good. All you need is some sources, your reasoning, and a good story to add some fluff to get the A. If you’re a student do not procrastinate and do the work (Do not be like me. But if you are like me, give that teacher a screenplay worthy paper).

For example, if you have a 15-page paper, the odds are in your favor. The teacher is going to glance through to make sure you hit all the main points. Even if they read every page, you will get and lose points. That’s when the fluffy story comes in. You have to weigh out your odds. Know that this section might not be your strongest and fluff it up and then focus on other areas where you know the teacher will focus much of their attention on. At most you will get an A- or B+.

When I was in my Master program, I took those papers more seriously and majority of the time hit the A mark. However, one assignment threw me for a loop. There is this poetry event called Poets in Autumn. It is fantastic and the poets are unbelievable. I’m going to leave a video from one of the Poets performances below. They go to major cities throughout the U.S. for their tour. Last year was virtual due to COVID and it was still amazing.

Nevertheless, the performance was coming up and my assignment. I did not read all of the instructions. The day before I found out that I had a fifteen-page paper to write and turn in on that day. Thankfully my girlfriend helped me out with completing it. Did I end up going to the event, you bet I did. Cool, calm and collected like brotha man below.

By sebastiaan stam on Unsplash

Spent the first half of the day working on the paper and for about two – three hours took a break at the event. When we got out of the event, we had about an hour to finish the paper. Turned it in around 1 Am something and beyond tired. I could have gotten an A had I paid attention and did it weeks before but I still came out with a B+.

That moment solidified me the a GOAT at writing. I’m going to give you some Kyrie crossover moves and hit you with the Dame Time jump shot to send you back home.

Toss those words like a Caesar salad and at like you’re Gordon Ramsey in this writing game.

workflow
1

About the Creator

Michael J. Harris

I'm a young inspiring author and youth leader. I hope that through my YouTube and my writings that I can inspire the youth to both do and be more. Building on a ministry of stepping into the youth lives and allowing them to be themselves.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.