Journal logo

Secrets

Once It's Out It's Not A Secret

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
8
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

This is another piece that I haven't a clue how I am going to write it. It is inspired by the number of Vocal and Medium stories that say they are going to tell us "secrets".

But what is a secret?

This is taken from the internet.

adjective

not known or seen or not meant to be known or seen by others.

noun

something that is kept or meant to be kept unknown or unseen by others.

So Those Shared Secrets

This is a book that I was pushed into reading, and while some of the ideas encourage positivity some of it is the worst twaddle have come across. By imagining your bills are cheques the money will flood to you.

Just praying or hoping will have no effect, you have to do something to actually cause a return.

My expenses won't be paid if I don't submit a claim with a photo of a receipt. You won't win the lottery if you don't buy a lottery ticket (although to be honest you have to beat the odds of millions to one to get even the smallest return.

My main problem with "The Secret" was that it focuses so much on money and financial return, but it is worth getting a second-hand copy and skimming it for the useful bits, but it's unlikely to radically change your life.

There are tales of people who got lucky because a business idea or book got picked up, but that wasn't magic, they had put work into their ideas and eventually got rewarded.

And Then

There are so many on Vocal like this

Although I am sharing it, I know damned well that trading and crypto are little better than going to the betting shop and dealing with bookmakers. People often contact me and tell me how they can make me thousands if I just send them a thousand dollars or so.

Then you get all these stories about making money on Vocal or elsewhere:

If you look carefully there is one of mine, but that was caused by a Vocal Challenge with a big prize, me sharing it on Ambassador's links and people signing up through my links to take the challenge. This was just me getting lucky but you can read the article.

The thing is I did something to make that happen.

There is one story that tells you how to make $5m on Vocal which is obviously a mickey take but there are a few "free money" sites and side hustles.

You get ones similar to these on Medium, often very short saying post lots of things every day and get loads of reads and get rich.

The thing is there are no secrets here. Hard work can actually get you success but it does need a slice of luck, but that work needs to be put in.

Sometimes you fail, and that should be a lesson learned.

When something seems too good to be true, usually it is.

You Hold The Secret To Your Success

Whatever you do try and learn about it and do it better. My modus operandi in everything I do is:

"There Must Be A Better Way Than This"

Most of the time there isn't but it doesn't stop me from looking.

The most money I have made from Vocal is using The Ambassador's Program which they hardly seem to push these days, but this is my guide to it, and once you are signed up it is easy to use, but you have to put the effort in.

Conclusion

I hope this has given you a little food for thought, if you see someone saying they are going to reveal a secret, then it is no longer a secret.

The music is "secrets" by One Republic

product reviewworkflowVocalhow toheroes and villainsfeaturefact or fictionbusinessadvice
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Totally agree. We have to actually do the work to get what we want.

  • Good to know.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    That was an interesting article. Now excuse me while I go win the lottery.

  • Lana V Lynx5 months ago

    I didn't realize that the Vocal Ambassador program was still active. Clicked on the link, and there it was!

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Yes indeed! Food for thought! Thank you. I watched the secret on DVD years ago. I did enjoy some of the self-help parts of it. The laws of attraction are always at work, we just can't seem to fine tune them well enough to see a true spike in results. The effort though, is worth it to me. Nice article, Mike!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.