Journal logo

Running Rituals for a Successful Life and Career

Insights from Avid Marathon Runner Andrew Pesner

By Andrew PesnerPublished about a month ago 5 min read
Running Rituals for a Successful Life and Career
Photo by Alessio Soggetti on Unsplash

As someone who's spent decades navigating the volatile waters of financial advising, I've come to rely on one steadfast ritual that centers me like no other: running. There's something about hitting the pavement each morning that clears my mind and sets the tone for a successful day. Living just outside of New York City, in a quiet suburb, gives me the perfect backdrop for my daily runs. These runs aren't just a hobby; they're my secret weapon for a thriving career and a balanced life.

I'll never forget one particular morning run, a few years back. The air was crisp, and the sky just beginning to lighten. I was deep in thought about a particularly challenging client situation when I stumbled over a mislaid stone. I caught myself before hitting the ground, and in that moment of clarity—literally caught between falling and standing—I solved the problem that had been troubling me. It was a vivid reminder of how closely my physical and mental well-being are linked, and how running not only keeps my body in shape but also sharpens my mind for sharp, clear decision-making.

Running came into my life around the same time I started my career. I was young, eager, and maybe a bit too sure of myself. Early mornings saw me lacing up my sneakers to churn out miles before the sun peeked over the horizon. Those quiet, solitary runs were my thinking sessions. I planned my day, mulled over client portfolios, and brainstormed solutions to complex financial problems. It’s fair to say that some of my best career moves were conceived somewhere between the first and last mile of my runs.

What running taught me early on was the importance of setting and achieving goals. As a financial advisor, setting goals is part of the job description, but executing them consistently is another matter entirely. Running marathons became a metaphor for my professional projects—both required meticulous planning, persistence, and the mental fortitude to push through when the going got tough. Completing each marathon boosted my confidence, reinforcing my belief that with the right mindset, I could help my clients achieve anything.

I vividly remember training for the New York City Marathon, an event that drew parallels to the most ambitious goals in my career. It was late summer, and I had set a rigorous training schedule that demanded early mornings before work and long runs on the weekends. One weekend, I had a 20-mile run scheduled—the longest run before the race. The day started warmer than expected, and as the miles added up, so did the heat. By mile 15, I was struggling, my body begging me to stop, my mind wrestling with the desire to give up. It was then that I recalled a challenging moment with a client, where perseverance had turned a near loss into a significant win. Drawing from that professional triumph, I steadied my pace, focused on my breathing, and completed the run. I was exhausted yet exhilarated.

This training run, much like the scenarios I navigated in my financial advising career, underscored the necessity of resilience and adaptability. Just as I adapted my pace to finish those grueling miles, in my career, I often adjusted strategies to align with changing market conditions or client needs. Each marathon, each client’s success, built on my conviction that through continuous effort and strategic adjustments, any challenging goal could be met. This philosophy not only shaped my approach to marathons but became a cornerstone of my professional ethos.

But let’s be honest, the high-pressure environment of financial advising can be a breeding ground for stress. Here, too, running has been my salvation. Stress can cloud your judgment, impacting decision-making and client relationships. When the stress levels start to rise, I run. As my feet rhythmically hit the ground, stress melts away, clarity takes its place, and solutions to problems often appear as if out of thin air. Many might turn to other methods to cope, but I’ve found that the simplicity and purity of running provide a more effective, and healthier, remedy.

As the years rolled on, my career advanced, and so did my running. I’ve run countless marathons, and each race has taught me something new about endurance, both physically and metaphorically. In my profession, you need the endurance to weather economic downturns, navigate market volatilities, and manage client anxieties. Running has kept me physically fit, sure, but more importantly, mentally resilient.

Deciding to train for my first ultramarathon was a leap into the unknown, mirroring the early days of my financial career when I was charting unfamiliar territories with investments and client relationships. The ultramarathon, a daunting 50-mile race through rugged trails and varying elevations, demanded more from me than any road marathon ever had. The training required not just physical endurance, but a profound mental fortitude that I hadn’t fully tapped into before.

Training began with adjusting my routine, adding longer, back-to-back runs, and incorporating strength training to tackle the challenging terrain. I remember the first time I completed a 30-mile training run; I was exhausted, my muscles sore and my mind fatigued, questioning the sanity of it all. Yet, it was during these long hours on the trail that I found a powerful form of meditation, a way to clear my mind that differed markedly from the bustling energy of New York City’s roads.

This intense physical challenge forced me to confront personal limits and fears. In a parallel reflection on my personal life, I recognized the need for balance. Just as I needed rest days to recover physically, I learned to better appreciate the quiet moments at home, away from the relentless pace of the financial world. It was during this period that I strengthened my relationship with my family, understanding that just as my body needed support to reach the finish line, so too did I need the emotional support of my loved ones to thrive in life.

Of course, it's easy to talk about the strategic benefits of running without mentioning the sheer joy it brings. Yes, I run for clarity and for career success, but I also run because it’s exhilarating. Sprinting towards the finish line with hundreds of other runners, feeling that mix of exhaustion and adrenaline, is something you have to experience to understand. It’s invigorating, and it reminds me why I push myself both in my running and in my career.

Let's not mince words; I’ve been rather successful in my field. It’s not boasting if it's true, right? But I firmly believe that much of that success can be attributed to the lessons and discipline running has instilled in me. It’s given me an edge—a way to stay sharp, focused, and ahead of the pack.

Now, as I look toward the future, possibly edging closer to retirement than the start of my career, I see running continuing to play a vital role. It’s become more than a routine; it’s a lifetime companion that has shaped who I am: a confident, successful advisor who knows a thing or two about resilience.

If you’re just starting in your career or finding yourself a bit lost, consider this: sometimes, the best solutions don't come from a boardroom or a book. They come from taking a step back, or in my case, several thousand steps forward on a quiet trail. Running might just be the clarity you need, as it was and continues to be for me.

humanitycareer

About the Creator

Andrew Pesner

Andrew Pesner, a seasoned Financial Advisor from Hauppauge, NY, excels in capital markets with a passion for helping clients achieve their financial goals. An avid marathon runner, he values discipline, education, and family.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Andrew PesnerWritten by Andrew Pesner

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.