Journal logo

Questions About My Future

What Will Be Your Future Profession/Career?

By Hannah MartinsonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

When I was really little (Like preschool age) the first job I ever wanted to have was to be a BAT DOCTOR.

Yup. You read that right.

A. Bat. Doctor.

You see, growing up, my brother and I were HUGE animal lovers *still am* and our mom used to play educational animal videos for us as kids! And in the opening credits of one of the videos, I saw a clip of a "doctor" (probably a vet) was standing there, holding a bat and smiling! :) The bat was hooked on its finger and happy as can be. And every time I saw that I thought, "aw, that looks awesome. I wanna do that - snuggle bats all day. How does it get any better than that? THEY'RE SO CUTE!" (ahahahahahaha!)

After that, I found my love for the ocean <3 and was DEAD SET on being a marine biologist - solely for the purpose of swimming with dolphins all day. Then I hit highschool, and realized how much math, and science was involved (neither of which were my strong suit), so back to the drawing board I went.

Now, my whole life I had been very musical. I began playing the piano at age 3, played the flute and alto saxaphone all through elementary school and into highschool, I had sang in church, self taught the guitar, and have been singing to the radio or in church for as long as I can remember. And when I was 13 I was fortunate enough to begin dance lessons, and by 15 I had booked my first professional dance and singing contract.

But even though I had all these wonderful things behind me, I always felt like I was never any good. Like I squeeked by because I was half decent and had a pretty smile. So when I was approached by my studio heads at the time and they suggested I apply to performing art school -- I was SHOCKED!

Even more shocked when I got in! (YAY!) But that's a story for another time...

I then went on to complete my degree in Triple Threat Performance (singing, dancing, and acting). Afterwards, I was fortunate enough to book one contract after another - whether it be dance, singing, film & t.v., or print modeling - I WAS YOUR GAL!!! I threw myself into my artistic career 110% and I couldn't have been happier.

Until one day the Universe revealed to me it's own plan.

THE WELLNESS INDUSTRY!

HA! Yup. You read that right! The next adventure was my life in the wellness industry. Which still seems amazing to me, seeing as I was out of shape, overweight, had no social media or training experience (aside from sports in highschool and playing competitive volleyball for a few years before dance). But the Universe felt there was a spark in me that the world needed to experience. SO! I began my new chapter into the area of Health and Wellness.

I got STRAIGHT to work. I started training intensely, sharing my journey every chance I could, and worked myself to the bone, creating my very own COACHING BUSINESS! (which was HONESTLY one of THE GREATEST GIFTS the Universe has ever gifted me).

You see, what I discovered through all of this, was that my mission is to share light and love with the world. I believe that you have the power to do anything and be anything. You create your life, so why not make it one full of joy, laughter, abundance, healing, and peace. Why not heal old wounds, and create space for new, more abundant ways of being to show up. Allow yourself to feel good, have fun, and create greater than you'd ever imagined.

And after all that, I'm now at home, full time with a brain injury that has changed my course of action all over again.

What the future holds in store? I'm not sure. But I'm hoping that one day I'll get to be a fiancee, then a wife, then a mother, and a teacher, and a homemaker. A fashion model, a fitness coach, an author and spiritual teacher. I want to be a powerful role modle for my future kids, loved ones, and anyone else in the world willing to listen, expand, and uplevel their life.

I want to inspire others, show you that you CAN heal, you CAN be happy, you CAN be healthy, and there IS good things out there in the world for you - you just have to be open to finding it. Life doesn't need to be any more difficult, than it already is. Do your best to surrender to the present moment, and receive all the goodness this world has to offer.

What else is possible now?

Hannah*

career
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Martinson

26 year old woman, on a journey to live her best life.

Retired, due to TBI

I beleive that by sharing our stories we can help others feel a sense of connection, understanding, compassion, and self love, and healing. What else is possible now?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.