Journal logo

Prince Harry Inspires Us All!!

How his Memoirs is changing the way we all approach life…

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like
Contemplating reading this!

👋🏾It’s EDB, that‘s Erik DeSean Barrett; here, at Panera, (who needs to sponsor me) just ‘sippin’. Ive got this awesomesauce symphony peice blasting in my ears; I hope that’s not to old for some of you; but it helps me think, work, and just be all out productive.

One thing on my mind is, DUDE.. I am feeling so fucking overwhelmed. I was trying to checkout the latest Gary Vee; but y’all know how he is right? If not, please endulge me. Gary Vee is at times…

  • Extremely fast paced
  • Super over the top
  • Emotionally violating in your face
  • Damn near impossible to swallow

and those are his good traits. I got 2 minuets into a 15 minuet podcast when my brain went. Naw Pimp. NOT TODAY..

All I could do, was sit back in my chair, take deep breaths, and pray my brain stop spinning like one of them old barbershop sign.

By Dan Gold on Unsplash

Before this gets out of hand, let me first say. None of this is the fault of Gary Vee. Actually it was just time for a come to Jesus meeting about my feelings.

It is something, I have never wanted to admit, but the great thing about the time we live in now, is it allows the Liberty to face our challenges without fear of repercussions. The culture now, also allows us access to others who share in our feelings, and struggles. Which brings me to Arthur C. Brooks; a contributing writer at The Atlantic and the host of the How to Build a Happy Life podcast. Which has not posted an update, since November of last year!! 🤬🤬

His piece out the gate resonates to the 1000 degree...

Maybe you can relate. If you’ve ever had mixed feelings about someone you love, you know the intense discomfort that results.

This right here, is the pillar of truth. It‘s one thing to feel madly in love, another to feel satanically in hate. Both of those feelings are understandable, even make sense; but when you just don’t know how to feel about someone, it‘s like 🤯🤯🤯..

Arthur Brooks is hitting homeruns with this piece. Stating points like..

Mixed emotions drain your emotional batteries, like a phone connecting to multiple networks simultaneously. They are one of the most complex psychological phenomena we are capable of, and bring us a great deal of distress.

If you are like me, just the mere thought of certain folks, sends ya into a raging panic. I think about some meetings I have to attend. I am suffering: Sweats, headaches, severe gasps for air, and thats before I even get there..

It‘s like you are crazy, sanitarium bound. So you keep it all bottled up, hoping you can find enough mantra to get through this painful period. Can I tell you something? Nothing, excitted me more, than what I am about to share. Still in Arthur‘s piece, he goes on to explain.

The idea of being able to experience truly “mixed” feelings is quite new. Well into the 20th century, many psychologists believed that positive and negative emotions existed on a continuum. If you felt “less bad” as time passed after a loss or trauma, that simply meant you felt “more good.” Researchers didn’t think you could feel good and bad at the same time. Even today, people often talk about happiness and unhappiness in this way—as if the presence of one means the absence of the other.

There is so much in this article. I need you to read it, because when you do you will I guarantee, have a hard time REFUTING IT.… The revelation you’ll get about yourself, and those around you, will mess you up!! Oh and don’t feel bad, If it makes ya wanna have a Pentecostal fit. TRUST.. You’ll be alright..

Speaking of being alright. Anyone talk to the prince? Because he (Harry) is seemingly bringing a whole new meaning to the term ‘Buring Bridges’. I Recenly purchased his (Harry) memoirs..

NO… That is the answer to the obvious question. First, I did spend the 18 bucks, to not, as of yet open it. I keep telling myself, I will get to it, before everyone else ruins it for me. Then again, regardless of what anyone else says, Ol EDB will certainly make up his own mind about how he feels, which I hope you will as well.

Ol Callum Borchers, who writes a weekly, reported column for The Wall Street Journal about people's careers and work lives; sure has a view or two about the good prince..

The job that Prince Harry renounced is a fantasy for many. Even more enviable, however, might be his burn-the-bridges style of quitting.

Now before you make the same mistake I did thinking this piece by ol Callum was just the juicy dirty about Harry and the dirty laundry laying around the palace. It is quite the opposite. It takes the story of Harry, and attempts to resonate it with the everyday average joe. The piece introduces us to a fellow podcaster Sarah Fraser; who hosts “The Sarah Fraser Show” who is a beast. She literally uploads every single day, that alone makes me wanna check her out. Sarah has publicly criticized what she calls toxic cultures at commercial radio stations in the Washington, D.C., market, where she was an on-air personality until 2015. At first it was hell, but afterwards, she now 40, earns a living from a talk show that spans news and pop culture and generates 100,000 to 200,000 downloads a month.

Sometimes you need to torch a bridge and it’s the best thing you can do because it forces you to build your own business.

Callum also introduces us to Doug George a freelance content creator on Long Island, N.Y. George, 35, typifies what he calls a new age of work in which many people are independent contractors and side hustlers who relish being their own bosses. A former country club tennis pro, he offers private lessons in the Hamptons when he’s not writing and marketing.

For too long, employers have held people down.

So Why did I share? Because I wanted to hopefully highlight the drama of the estranged Prince Harry? Absolutely not, I was hoping to guack at Callum for not having a life, but I was wrong. He (Callum) was just explaining how Prince Harry actions is setting off a ripple effect for those looking to professionally let freedom ring.

And it couldn’t come at a more pressing time. I remember back when I was in college. I delivered newspapers. (ALL OF EM) The interesting thing was, how many service men/women i saw moonlighting. They were spending sunrise to set, risking their lives, defending our freedoms, yet they were forced to choose between bread and water..

Enlisted personnel generally earn more money than their civilian counterparts, but have a higher rate of food insecurity, according to a new Rand Corp. report.

Researchers determined that 25.8% of active duty members were food insecure in 2018, compared to 9% of civilians, based on their analysis of a DoD status of forces survey of active duty members that year. Researchers found that food insecure active duty members were more likely to be in the grades of E-4 to E-6, which is contrary to the general belief that most are junior enlisted. They were also more likely to be part of a racial or ethnic minority, and were “disproportionately” in the Army.

I wasn’t expecting that the rate of food insecurity would be so high relative to civilians. The data are suggesting things we just don’t understand.

Beth Asch, a senior economist at Rand and lead author of the study, told Military Times.

There is so much to unpack in this, but the over arching moral is. How is it, of all people, these, the front liners of the american defense, are being forced to beg for food stamps? Ol Kevin Mcarthy, and his Republican friends want to talk budgetary dieting. HOW ABOUT when you send up you next spending bill, you put significant raises for our service people in there.. Its call political calethstentics..

With THAT.. we move to fitness. Shane McLean of Muscle fitness gives some insight, thats great for this time of year. Its mid January, the gyms, are now starting to empt out, which makes this a great convo to share with those eyeing the door.

I need everyone, if only because I don’t wanna be alone, despite hoping I can get my regular hole in the gym, uninterrupted. Health my friends, this coming from the fat soda drinker, is so imporant, so please go (a) checkout this piece, and (b) use this to better yourself.

This brings me to the final thought of today. If you are still trying to figure out what to conclude for 2023. Here is a little advice from SJ McShane..

FOR THE SAKE OF TIME. I will just skip to the points.

  • When setting goals, “Finding an accountability partner to keep you motivated (and honest) would also be helpful.”
  1. Reading one chapter out of a book of your choice daily
  2. Start telling your loved ones you appreciate them more.
  3. Tune out all the noise or things that could knock you off your goals.
  4. Go on 30 min walks daily.
  5. Attempt to drink a gallon of water daily.
  6. Sleep 7-8 hours a night.
  • Declutter and deep clean your living space daily.
  • Implementing a training program.
  • Completing a mental clear-out and eliminating things you want to leave forever in 2022. “That means toxic relationships, things that do not serve you, and even bad eating habits.

IF WE CAN Get these things ‘MAXIMIZED’ by the end of January. Think Dude/Dudettes, your world will be completely aweseomesauce. So let me tell you what I am going to do. I am going to redo my social life.

The Blog - Writing about stories ‘Daily’ that inspire/invoke change in my life. I plan to hit up the Panera, put on my Apple Music Playlist, and just rock out my fingers to the keys. (Vocal.Media) (Website)

The Podcast - The podcast will be a reflection of my writing. Accompained by the awesomesauce music I listen too, shoutout to NCS and other artists, I am blessed to connect with.

Snap Chat - (10second) clips of what I come in contact with, or feel througout my day

Youtube - VERSE OF THE DAY (60Seconds) WORD OF THE DAY (15Seconds) -DAYINTHELIFE (A minuet for every hour IM Active)

That said, I‘m gonna get out your hair. If you need something to listen to. Checkout my Playlist..

Until NEXT TIME…

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.