Journal logo

Open Houses and Social Media

I will never understand social media trolls

By Rose ShortPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

A​s I wrap up another open house weekend, I think back to my first open house as a licensed real estate professional.

I​t was January of this year. Being in Phoenix, not terrible as far as the weather was concerned. The air was brisk and I needed a jacket, but I was far from freezing. The house was in Moon Valley in Phoenix, a beautiful home with landscaping, in the backyard where the outdoor kitchen and pool were. driveway was a steep hike but totally worth the climb.

I was a part-time real estate professional at that time. I had taken a job working 4 nights a week in a town an hour away. hadn't yet figured out how I was going to build a career heavily based on referrals in a city where I didn't know anyone. At that time I had no idea I would soon take on an admin role with the team to aid with marketing, event organization and social media presence.

W​ me at the open house was another newly licensed professional. I had met him at a Christmas party, where he was manning the music and karaoke station. He got licensed at the same time I did, and he developed into his new role with ease. He has been successful, and it has been an honor to watch him spread his wings and fly. far no other houses have had an outline of a body though ( a prop).

A​ we do an open house together we have a great time. This weekend we had a hours together, as his open house hours were longer than mine, but I had my own listing to advertise in the afternoons. times we reminisce over our first open house and how this last year has gone for both of us. This weekend he has a with he brought up our first open house, so I'm glad to know I'm not the one who loves telling the stories.

Idid have a lot of fun this weekend poking fun at him playing holiday music already. My social media got flooded with videos that included sound bites or music from The Grinch and I tagged him in them!

P​art of what has sparked the reminiscing for me has been an uptick in people I used to work with viewing my LinkedIn profile. I don't know if they don't realize I get the notification or they have also made no effort to contact me. I don't get it. say hi people!

T​his weekend was also Alice Copper's Christmas Pudding and an concert. His program Solid Rock is such a great thing. I love how active he is here in the Phoenix area. Makes my dream of finding him a dream or investment home here 99% unrealistic.

I went to TopGolf for a holiday party hosted by one of our awesome inspectors. a lot of fun and solidified that I am terrible at golf. I did have to laugh though because my two main marketing slogans are "Paint it Red" or "Come down the rabbit hole of buying and selling with me". Joe will forever remember me saying, in response to negative comments about my image, "Even Alice Cooper and Marylin Manson need houses."

T​hat is where the double-edged sword of social media comes into play. I have a lot of fun posting videos and being me, but always some troll around to comment about my choice to have facial piercings. It's entertaining and frustrating. I'm talking about market reports and giving tips on house hunting and you are fixated on my lips? Is this a symptom of post mask mandates or are these individuals so unhappy with their lives they have nothing better to do than try to insult others? I wonder if they make any money to hate comment?

A​, it's been a fun weekend. Looking to a productive week!

business
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.