Journal logo

11 Months in Real Estate

I couldn't be happier

By Rose ShortPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
One of many marketing photos. I love that I get to be myself.

T​his time last year I was studying for the state test, trying to find a job to keep me afloat as I build my real estate career, and wondering if I was making the right choices. Almost a year later, I am certain I did.

I had not planned on being a real estate professional, but when life throws you a curveball, you have to adapt. Now I cannot imagine where my life would be if I had not taken the leap.

2​021 has been an interesting year. From a financial perspective, it has not been my best. From a well-being perspective, top 5. I had always prided myself on being a workaholic. I was always available to cover shifts, work extra time, never took a vacation and I made myself believe I was happy. When it all came crumbling down I was forced to admit a hard truth: all my hard work made money for someone else, who found it all too easy to discard me. a truth I needed though, allowing me to actually set boundaries on my time and dedicate more time to myself and my personal relationships.

K​ my drive and applying it to my own business and happiness has been the greatest change ever. I am working hard, but I am working hard for my success. I answer to me and me . If I think ideas are a waste of time and not working, I have the power to try new ones. I don't stress about corporate higher-ups making bad decisions or yelling at me for I can't control. I see all the articles on workers being treated poorly and I feel bad for them, but I also feel relief that I escaped that world.

Not that the transition has been all butterflies and rainbows. I took on an admin role for my team and I have people in my life to help ease my financial burden. I would not be able to succeed without that kind of support behind me. 'm still learning what avenues work for me and which ones don't and building a clientele base in a city where I don't know a lot of people not the easiest thing in the world.

used to scoff at people making a living on social media, but now I too have gone down the rabbit hole that is and . am still figuring out how to these avenues to add value to people's lives as well as market myself. a learning curve, but a fun one. I even started a podcast, though not about real estate. A friend and I decided to start it as a way for us to discuss social issues and prove to the world we don't have to hate each other we have different views. It's become our own form of therapy.

A​s I am planning my success for 2022, I realize I need to be more consistent with content, even if that content is a quick market update or a new blog/journal about a day in the life or the reasons I love my job (which is why you are reading this). I still hold on to the hope that I can help some of my music hero's find a place to live here in Phoenix, but I also love seeing vets get their new homes and first-time homeowners realize their dreams. The sense of belonging and accomplishment that comes with being a real estate professional is something I truly cherish.

D​o I have it all figured out? No. I have a lot of room to grow and lessons to learn, but that makes it all the more exciting.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.